Laune Rangers – 1904


Disagreement with the Kerry Co. Board had led to Laune Rangers not taking part in the Co. Senior Football Championship and, perhaps, not having a representative on the Co. Senior Football team.


* * * * * * * * * * *


Co. Senior Football Championship

Twelve teams entered for the Co. Senior Football Championship, Tarbert, Craughwell, Castleisland, Listowel, Irremore, Dingle, Ballylongford, Duagh, Tralee Mitchels, Killarney Crokes, Cahersiveen and Ballinskelligs. Unfortunately, Laune Rangers did not have a team.


The competition was not completed until the end of 1905 and Tralee Mitchels, captained by Thady O Gorman, received a walkover from Cahersiveen, which had qualified for the final sixteen months earlier! Another bloodless coup for the Mitchels!




James Nolan, Cill Coinnigh, was Uachtarán CLG.


The Munster Convention was held at Fitzgerald’s Hotel, Cork on 14th Feb. The following officers were elected: Chairman – Thomas F. O Sullivan (Ciarraí), Secretary – Tom Dooley (Corcaigh), Treasurer – Dan Fraher (Port Láirge).


The Annual Convention of the Kerry Co. Board was held in the Young Ireland Society rooms, Tralee on Sat. 26th March. Thirteen clubs were represented. Laune Rangers club was not represented. The following officers were elected: President – Eugene O Sullivan (Killarney), Vice-President – Thomas O Flaherty (Tralee), Treasurer – Frank O Fahey (Tralee), Secretary – Thomas F. O Sullivan (Listowel), Delegate to Central Council – Eugene O Sullivan, Delegates to Munster Council – Eugene O Sullivan and Thomas F. O Sullivan, Delegates to Munster Convention – Eugene O Sullivan, Thomas F. O Sullivan, Thomas O Flaherty and Austin Stack.


Munster Senior Football Championship final replay: Kerry 2-3; Waterford 0-2.

All-Ireland Final on Sun. 1st July 1906 at Cork: Kerry (Tralee Mitchels) 0-5; Dublin (Kickhams) 0-2.

Kerry: Austin Stack (capt.), Maurice McCarthy, John T. Fitzgerald, James O Gorman, Thady O Gorman, Con Healy, P.J. Cahill, John Buckley, Dinny Curran, John O Sullivan (all Tralee), Paddy Dillon (goals), Jack Myers, Dan McCarthy, Dick Fitzgerald, Billy Lynch, Florrie O Sullivan (all Killarney), Denny Breen (Castleisland). Subs: Tom Costello (Tralee), Rody Kirwan

That was Kerry’s second All-Ireland Senior Football Championship title.


J.P. O Sullivan acted as starter/handicapper at the following Sports Meetings under the rules of the GAA:

Thurs. 7th July – Ardfert Sports; Wed. 27th July – Castleisland Cycling and Athletic Sports Sun. 31st July – Tralee Sports; Mon. 1st Aug. – Waterville Sports; Mon. 15th Aug. – Milltown Sports; Sun. 28th Aug. – Killorglin Sports; Wed. 31st Aug. – Ballyheigue Sports; Sat. 8th Oct. – Kilgarvan Sports.


In May, the death occurred of Dr. Coffey, Bishop of Kerry. He was replaced by Dr. Denis Mangan.