Having missed out on the 25th anniversary of the County Championship wins of both 1995 & 1996 due to the Covid restrictions of the past two years, Laune Rangers are delighted to have been invited to take their bow at Half Time in tomorrow’s County Final.

The 1997 Champions East Kerry won again in both 1998 & 1999 so will have their opportunity to be celebrated next year.


Having defeated Shannon Rangers, Spa/Gneeveguilla & Kenmare District en route to the Final, they defeated East Kerry by 1-7 to 0-6 in the 1995 decider.

Laune Rangers team vs East Kerry:- Peter Lyons, Adrian Hassett, Paudie Sheahan, Mark O Connor, Shane O Sullivan, Mike Hassett, Tommy Byrne, Timmy Fleming (0-2), Pierce Prendiville, Joe Shannon (0-1), Conor Kearney, Gerard Murphy (capt.) 1-0, Paul Griffin, Liam Hassett (0-1), Billy O Shea (0-2). Subs: Billy O Sullivan for G. Murphy, James O Shea (0-1) for C. Kearney, Pat McKenna, John Doona, Pa Murphy, Liam Foley, Jason Griffin, Thomas Walsh, Anthony O Sullivan, Pa O Sullivan, Michael F. Russell, Brian Gannon, John Sheehan.

Laune Rangers – 1995 Co. SF Champions
Gerard Murphy (capt.) 1995 received the Bishop Moynihan Cup from Sean Kelly, Chairman Kerry Co. Board.

Of course, the 1995 County Final win marked the start of the greatest journey in the club’s history, beating Bantry Blues (Cork), Claughaun (Limerick) & Moyle Rovers (Tipperary) to win the Munster Championship.  Laune Rangers defeated Corofin of Galway in the All Ireland Semi Final, which was played in Ennis, before defeating Éire Óg of Carlow in the All Ireland Senior Club Championship Final in Croke Park on St Patrick’s Day 1996.

Gerard Murphy raises Andy Merrigan Cup

St Patrick’s Day 1996 is of course a day that everyone fortunate enough to be there will never forget.

The video made of the buildup & celebrations of that All Ireland win, and the video of the match itself, are both available to view below.


Laune Rangers accounted for Annascaul, East Kerry (after a replay), Kerin’s O’Rahillys & St Kierans on the way to the 1996 County Final, where they defeated West Kerry by a single point – 2-7 to 1-9.

Laune Rangers Team vs West Kerry:- Peter Lyons, Adrian Hassett, Paudie Sheahan, Mark O Connor (capt.), John Sheehan, Mike Hassett (1-0), Shane O Sullivan, Tommy Byrne, Pierce Prendiville, Joe Shannon, Michael F. Russell (0-4, 3 frees), Gerard Murphy, Paul Griffin (0-1), Liam Hassett (0-2), Billy O Shea (1-0). Subs: Conor Kearney for S. O Sullivan (inj.), Brian Gannon for G. Murphy, James O Shea, Pat McKenna, Pa O Sullivan, Pa Murphy, John O Sullivan, Thomas Walsh and Billy O Sullivan.

Laune Rangers captained would go on to defend their Munster crown, defeating Rathgormack (Waterford) after a replay & Clonakilty (Cork) in the Munster Final, before ultimately being defeated by Crossmaglen of Armagh in the All Ireland Semi Final in Portlaoise.

Mark O Connor (capt.) 1996 proudly holds the Munster Club Championship trophy aloft.

The 1996 County Senior Football Final can be viewed below

While the 1996 Munster Senior Club Final is also available to view below

Of course, some of the Laune Rangers heroes of 1995 & 1996 will have a vested interest in the County Final.  The next generation of Hassett brothers Gearóid & Eoghan – sons of Adrian – will be part of the Mid Kerry squad, while Pa Murphy’s son Ruairí will be lined out for East Kerry!

We hope all our heroes of 1995 & 1996 have a great day tomorrow!