Minor Football League Division 1 3
21 June 2021, 7:30 pm
Laune Rangers
0-20 - 0-13
Kerins O’Rahillys
J P O Sullivan Park
Minor Boys Blue

Match Report

Laune Rangers 0-20, Kerins O’Rahillys 0-13

Laune Rangers made it three wins out of three on Monday evening as they defeated Kerins O’Rahilly in JP O’Sullivan Park, topping the County League Division 1A group as a result to qualify for the Division 1 Semi Finals.

A stiff breeze blew into the road end of the Track on Monday evening, with Rangers playing into it for the first half.  Eight minutes had passed before the game’s first score as David Crowley found some space to slot a well taken point, before Rahillys made use of the wind at their backs & scored five consecutive points (two frees) to lead by 4 after 17 minutes.

Jack O’Sullivan punched a point over to end the scoreless run and, after Rahillys had scored another point, Tom Whittleton and Jack O’Sullivan scored points from good team moves as Rangers began to negotiate the breeze.  Kerins O’Rahillys outscored Ranges 0-3 to 0-1 in the final minutes of the half (John Burke with Rangers point) as the Tralee side led by four at the break.  Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-5, Kerins O’Rahillys 0-9.

Laune Rangers – now playing with the breeze at their backs – took control of the game in the third quarter, as the backs began to get on top.  John Burke (2), Tom Whittleton, David Crowley (2), Darragh O’Grady (3) & Jack O’Sullivan all scored points as Rangers dominated possession and territory.  Kerins O’Rahillys threatened the Rangers goal, but Adam Carey pulled off a great save while on the next attack, Darragh O’Grady also forced a save from the visitors goalkeeper to leave Rangers leading by 0-14 to 0-9 at the second half water break.

Rangers continued to impress in the final quarter.  Darragh O’Grady slotted two excellent 45s while Eoghan Hassett scored his point of the game & Rahillys added one at the other end.  Jack O’Sullivan scored his fourth point of the game before Rahillys pointed twice.  Substitute Eoghan Joy scored a point as his effort dropped short only to bounce over the bar.  A final Rahilly’s point was cancelled out by Eoghan Hassett with the final score of the game.  Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-20, Kerins O’Rahillys 0-13.

Laune Rangers Team:- Adam Carey, Killian Spillane, Eoin Lynch, Cathal O’Callaghan, Oisín Birmingham, Ryan Diggin, Tim Mangan, Aona O’Shea, Tom Whittleton, John Burke (0-3), Eoghan Hassett (0-2), Cillian Foley, Darragh O’Grady (0-5, 2 45s), Jack O’Sullivan (0-4), David Crowley (0-3).  Subs: Joseph O’Neill for Mangan, Rian O’Sullivan for Foley, John Tuohy for Crowley, Eoghan Joy (0-1) for Burke, Devon Hogan for Spillane.