Lee Strand U-13 County Football League - Div 9 3
27 June 2021, 5:30 pm
John Mitchels
4-13 - 3-9
Laune Rangers
John Mitchels GAA Complex
Under 13 Boys White

Match Report

John Mitchels 4-13, Laune Rangers White 3-9

Laune Rangers Under 13 White Team were defeated by John Mitchels in the first game in Tralee on Sunday evening, as a strong showing in the second half saw the home team pull away to win.

John Mitchels led by 7 after just 90 seconds as they scored two goals  and a point in quick succession.  Rangers recovered well though, scoring points through Cormac Sweeney (2) and Liam O’Shea before Mitchels scored a pointed free.  The away side were playing well now though, and a goal from Odhran Foley were followed by points by Foley and Conor West to see the sides level at 1-5 to 2-2 at the first water break.

Rangers’ great work to recover was undone by a Mitchels goal and two points, but again they recovered to score a second goal through Mikey Hynes & point from Cormac Sweeney.  Mitchels scored two late points to lead by a clear goal at the break.   Half Time Score:- John Mitchels 3-6, Laune Rangers 2-6.

A Jack Buckley goal straight from the throw in levelled the game, but they were soon deflated as Mitchels hit the net at the other end with a deflected goal.  The home side – now with the swirling wind at their backs – scored six unanswered points to take a big lead into the 2nd water break, leading by 4-12 to 3-6.

Luke McGillicuddy and Jaego Ferris (2) pointed for Rangers in the final quarter as the home side scored one more to run out the game.  Mitchels may have added more to their scoresheet but for some great work at the back as Fionn Mack, Fionnán O’Connor & Cian McGrath did well, while Cormac Sweeney put in a great shift at midfield, scoring three super points from play along the way.

Full Time Score:- John Mitchels 4-13, Laune Rangers 3-9.

Laune Rangers White:- Fionnán Quigg, Fionn McGillycuddy, Oisín Clifford, Noah Eaton, Fionnán O’Connor, Henry Whittleton, Cian McGrath, Cormac Sweeney (0-3), Donnacha Prendiville, Darragh O’Sullivan, Odhran Foley (1-1), Jack Buckley (1-0), Michael Hynes (1-0), Liam O’Shea (0-1), Conor West (0-1).  Subs: Luke McGillicuddy (0-1), Jaego Ferris (0-2), Michael Dwyer.