Central Region Under 15 Division 1 Semi Final
1 September 2021, 7:00 pm
Laune Rangers
1-15 - 2-9
J P O Sullivan Park

Match Report

Laune Rangers 1-15, Ardfert 2-9

Laune Rangers will contest the Central Region Under 15 Division 1 Final as the Blue team were pushed all the way against Ardfert in Wednesday evening’s Semi Final in JP O’Sullivan Park.

The visitors led by 1-3 to 0-3 at the first water break, as Conor Buckley, Niall O’Brien and Logan Foley pointed for Rangers.

Ardfert extended their lead to four before Rangers got into the game, scoring points through Darragh Clifford, Eoin O’Connell and Niall O’Brien to reduce the gap to the minimum before a super goal by O’Brien gave the home side the lead – the ball finding the top corner and hitting the back stanchion.  Late in the half, Ardfert saw a man black-carded for a challenge that saw Adam O’Neill withdraw with injury, as Rangers scored two pointed frees through Stevie Gannon.  However, a goal for Ardfert with effectively the last kick of the half left a point between the sides at the break.  Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-8, Ardfert 2-4.

Laune Rangers scored with the first play of the second half as Charlie O’Sullivan came upfield to score a well taken point, but Ardfert replied with one themselves.  A Niall O’Brien point was also cancelled out by one at the other end, but a Darragh Clifford free saw Rangers leading by 1-11 to 2-6 at the second water break.

Conor Buckley, Stevie Gannon (free), Seánie Diggin & Niall O’Brien (free) added points in a period where Rangers dominated, but a number of wides meant that they couldn’t transfer it onto the scoreboard.  Two late points for Ardfert made for a nervy ending, but when a last kick of the game free was dropped into the square, Rangers managed to clear the ball to ensure passage to the Final.  Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-15, Ardfert 2-9.

Laune Rangers will face Austin Stacks in the Central Region Division 1 Final.

Laune Rangers Blue:- Patryk Radny, Matthew Spillane, Shane Clifford, David O’Brien, Aaron Doyle, Charlie O’Sullivan (0-1), Gavan Mangan, Eoin O’Connell (0-1), Darragh Clifford (0-3, 2f), Seán Diggin (0-1), Conor Buckley (0-2), Logan Foley (0-1), Adam O’Neill, Niall T O’Brien (1-3, 1f), Stephen Gannon (0-3f).  Subs: Ryan Carey, Dylan Flynn, Sean O’Donnell.