Senior Football League Division 5 Rd 4
22 April 2022, 7:00 pm
St. Michaels/Foilmore
0-14 - 0-9
Laune Rangers
Senior B Team

Match Report

Laune Rangers B vs Foilmore 22-04-2022

St Michaels/Foilmore 0-14, Laune Rangers B 0-9

Laune Rangers B team were defeated by St Michael’s/Foilmore in Division 5 of the County Senior Football League on Friday evening in Foilmore.

Early points against a strong breeze by Gavin O’Shea and Patrick Daly (free) put Rangers ahead, but the home side responded with points by Mike O’Sullivan and Alan Goggin before a pointed free by Damien Kelly nudged St Michaels/Foilmore ahead.  Now making use of the wind at their backs, Bernard Kelly pointed twice (1 free) to take a 0-5 to 0-2 lead with fifteen minutes played.

Cian O’Shea scored points either side of an excellent Ciarán Clifford point for the hosts, while later points were added by Mike O’Driscoll & Bernard Kelly (free) for St Michaels/Foilmore and Cian O’Shea for the visitors to leave the home team ahead by three at the break.  Laune Rangers, however, lost four players to injury during the course of the first period – Cormac Johnston, Patrick Daly, Gabriel Griffin and Daniel Macbeth all withdrawn with Aona O’Shea, Eamonn Carey, Marc Clifford and Mike Frank Russell coming on in their respective places.

Half Time Score:- St Michaels/Foilmore 0-8, Laune Rangers B 0-5.

The third quarter saw St Michaels/Foilmore’s lead increased as Bernard Kelly (free), Ciarán Clifford, Alan Goggin and Damien Kelly points were met by a solitary but well taken Eamonn Carey score.  With fifteen minutes to play, the home side led by double scores at 0-12 to 0-6.

Laune Rangers were growing into the game and points by Marc Clifford & Cian O’Shea (2 frees) saw their deficit halved.  However, St Michaels/Foilmore would weather the storm and they added two late points to make sure of the win.

Full Time Score:- St Michaels/Foilmore 0-14, Laune Rangers B 0-9.

Laune Rangers B:- Adam Carey, Cathal O’Callaghan, Cormac Johnston, Darragh O’Shea, James Treacy, Jonathan Carey (capt), Killian Spillane, Callum Russell, Calum Moriarty, Gavin O’Shea (0-1), Patrick Daly (0-1f), Gabriel Griffin, Michael O’Donnell, Daniel Macbeth, Cian O’Shea (0-5, 3f).  Subs: Aona O’Shea for Johnston, Eamonn Carey (0-1) for Griffin, Marc Clifford (0-1) for Daly, Michael F Russell for Macbeth, Morgan O’Sullivan for O’Donnell.