Senior Football League Division 5 Rd 5
30 April 2022, 7:00 pm
2-7 - 1-11
Laune Rangers
Senior B Team

Match Report

Glenflesk B 2-7, Laune Rangers B 1-11

Laune Rangers B team picked up their second win of the County League Division 5 season on Saturday evening away from home against their Glenflesk counterparts.

Laune Rangers got off to the better start, as points from Cian O’Shea (3), Matthew Leslie (2) and Mikey O’Donnell had the away side leading by 0-6 to 0-3 with a quarter played.

Matt Leslie added points either side of a pointed free by Glenflesk to see Rangers leading by four at the break.

Half Time Score:- Glenflesk B 0-4, Laune Rangers B 0-8.

Laune Rangers dominated the third quarter, as a well taken long range point by Calum Moriarty was followed by a Rangers goal – Cian O’Shea with an excellent finish after the ball had quickly been moved upfield from the opposite goal.  Matt Leslie added two more points to increased the Rangers lead to ten points, but the away side would not register another score for the remainder of the game.  With fifteen minutes to play, Laune Rangers B led by 1-11 to 0-4.

The home side found the net for their first goal to reduce to the gap to seven points, and they began to chip away at the deficit by scoring four consecutive points as Rangers struggled to clear their lines.  An injury time goal for Glenflesk left the minimum between the sides, but Laune Rangers B held on to register an important win and claim both league points on offer.

Full Time Score:- Glenflesk B 2-7, Laune Rangers B 1-11.

The scoring of Matt Leslie and Cian O’Shea had Rangers in a great position early in the second half, as Mikey O’Donnell’s point was just reward for an industrious shift where he won a lot of difficult ball.  Meanwhile, as Glenflesk’s late onslaught was causing problems to the Rangers defence, James Treacy was on hand to carry the ball out of danger and give the backs some respite, and it was his overall performance that stood out on the day.

Laune Rangers B:- Adam Carey, Killian Spillane, Patrick Brennan, Darragh O’Shea, Daniel Evans, Michael O’Sullivan, Cathal O’Callaghan, Calum Moriarty (0-1), Matthew Leslie (0-6), Aona O’Shea, Cian O’Shea (1-3), James Treacy, Eoghan Joy, Marc Clifford, Michael O’Donnell (0-1).  Subs: Colm O’Shea for Joy, Cillian Foley for Leslie, Jack Healy for Clifford.