Senior Football League Division 5 Rd 6
15 May 2022, 2:00 pm
Laune Rangers
0-10 - 1-11
J P O Sullivan Park
Senior B Team

Match Report

Laune Rangers B vs SneemDerrynane 15-05-2022

Laune Rangers B 0-10, Sneem/Derrynane 1-11

Laune Rangers B hosted Sneem/Derrynane on Sunday afternoon in Division 5 of the County Senior Football League, and it was the visiting South Kerry side that came away with the win with a strong final quarter performance.

Sneem/Derrynane pointed through Morgan O’Donoghue to take an early lead and, after a period without either set of posts being threatened, Callum Russell levelled matters for Rangers.  Ronan Hussey and Cian O’Shea (free) traded points to see the scores level at 0-2 a piece with fifteen minutes played.

Ian Galvin and Callum Russell exchanged points – both excellently hit – before pointed free by Ronan Hussey and Ruairí Burns put the visitors two ahead.  Marc Clifford scored a well taken point from long range & Patrick Daly added another to see the sides head in all square at the break.

Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers B 0-5, Sneem/Derrynane 0-5.

Cian O’Shea and Mikey O’Donnell (2) put the home side three ahead, while Ruairí Burns and Patrick Daly traded frees to leave Rangers ahead by 0-9 to 0-6 with fifteen minutes to play.

Ruairí Burns and Shane Doona added good points for their respective sides before Sneem/Derrynane levelled the game with a goal through Tim Murphy – a quickly taken sideline ball catching out Rangers defence as the wing forward struck to the net.

The away side were on the ascendancy throughout the final quarter as they added unanswered points through Ian Galvin & Ronan Hussey (3, 1 free), while Adam Carey denied them a second goal as he pulled off a great save.

Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers B 0-10, Sneem/Derrynane 1-11

Laune Rangers B:- Adam Carey, Patrick Brennan, Michael O’Sullivan, Darragh O’Shea, Killian Spillane, Jonathan Carey (capt), James Treacy, Callum Russell (0-2), Daniel Macbeth, Patrick Daly (0-2, 1f), Cian O’Shea (0-2, 1f), Aona O’Shea, Mikey O’Donnell (0-2), Marc Clifford (0-1), Shane Doona (0-1).  Subs: Cathal O’Callaghan for D O’Shea, Gavin O’Shea for C O’Shea, Cormac Johnston for Carey.

Sneem/Derrynane:- D Van Deale, S O’Connor, M O’Sullivan, J Clifford, M O’Donoghue (0-1), T O’Sullivan, D McGillicuddy, C O’Brien, J Riney, T Murphy (1-0), B O’Sullivan, P McGillicuddy, R Burns (0-3, 2f), I Galvin (0-2), R Hussey (0-5, 1f).

Division 5 Table after Round 6