Senior Football League Division 5 Rd 8
5 June 2022, 2:00 pm
Laune Rangers
0-16 - 2-17
J P O Sullivan Park
Senior B Team

Match Report

Laune Rangers B vs Kilgarvan 05-06-2022

Laune Rangers B 0-16, Kilgarvan 2-17

J.P. O’Sullivan Park in Killorglin was the venue for the Round 8 clash between Laune Rangers B and Kilgarvan.  A tit-for-tat battle throughout, the old adage “goals win games” rang true as Kilgarvan took their chances in front of goal, sealing the victory, and, more importantly, securing the points.

Laune Rangers opened the scoring with a well taken point from Gavin O’Shea.  Marc Clifford followed soon after with a point of his own and the home-side led 0-02 to no score with 5 minutes of the opening half played.  Kilgarvan got off the mark shortly after with a point from Ronan Foley before Dion Murphy levelled the game at 0-02 a piece in the 7th minute.

A Cian O’Shea pointed free put Laune Rangers ahead once more in the 8th minute but this was soon cancelled out by a Donal O’Sullivan effort in the 10th minute.

Kilgarvan continued to mount the pressure and were rewarded with further points from Padraig Dillon and Corey Murphy to take the lead, leading 0-05 to 0-03. O’Sullivan Down added to his tally in the 14th minute to extend Kilgarvan’s lead.

Laune Rangers worked well together to hold possession and work the ball in towards goal before Cian O’Shea pointed for the home-side to let the score 0-06 to 0-04 mid-way through the opening half.

Donal O’Sullivan added to his tally in the 16th minute after some good work from his teammate Ronan Foley and Kilgarvan led by 3 points once more. Cian O’Shea and O’Sullivan Down again traded scores in the 17th min.

An Eamonn Carey point in the 20th minute closed the visitor’s lead but this wasn’t for long as Donal O’Sullivan found the net for the visitor’s first goal soon after to let the score 1-08 to 0-06 with 9 minutes of the half to play.

Laune Rangers upped the ante for the closing minutes and points from Marc Clifford (22 mins), Cian O’Shea (free – 28 mins) and Callum Russell (29 mins) left Kilgarvan leading by two at the break.

Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers B 0-9, Kilgarvan B 1-8.

The second half started off slow before two pointed frees from Kilgarvan’s Donal O’Sullivan got the second half scoring underway in the 5th and 7th minutes.  Marc Clifford replied for the home-side in the 10th minute to let the goal between the sides; 1-10 to 0-10.

Kilgarvan hit a purple patch in the middle third of the half, scoring 5 unanswered points; Tadhg O’Donoghue (2pts; 13/15 mins), Donal O’Sullivan (free – 15 mins), a Ronan Foley fisted effort (16 mins) and Corey Murphy (18 mins) to extend the visitor’s led to 1-15 to 0-10 heading for the closing minutes of the half.

Substitute Colm O’Shea came off the bench for the home-side and got his name straight on the score-sheet with a well taken effort before Ciarán O’Sullivan came from the back line to register a point of his own and the score stood 1-15 to 0-12.

Donal O’Sullivan and Colm O’Shea swapped points in the minutes that followed before an on-fire O’Sullivan struck for Kilgarvan’s second goal in the 23rd minute to put the game out of Laune Rangers’ reach; 2-16 to 0-13.

Donal O’Sullivan added one final point for the visitors in the 29th minute. Laune Rangers continued to tack on scores with Colm O’Shea pointing a free along with points from Morgan O’Sullivan and Mikey O’Donnell in the closing minutes of the game to let the full-time score: Laune Rangers 0-16 to 2-17 Kilgarvan.

Laune Rangers B: Adam Carey, Cathal O’Callaghan, Patrick Brennan, Daniel Evans, Rory O’Connor, Jonathan Carey (capt), Ciarán O’Sullivan(0-1), Callum Russell(0-1), Michael O’Sullivan, James Treacy, Marc Clifford(0-3), Gavin O’Shea(0-1), Eamonn Carey(0-1), Cian O’Shea(0-4, 3f), Mikey O’Donnell(0-1). Subs: Cormac Johnston for Rory O’Connor, Darragh O’Shea for Johnny Carey, Cillian Foley for Gavin O’Shea, Colm O’Shea(0-3, 1f) for Cian O’Shea, Morgan O’Sullivan(0-1) for Eamonn Carey. Jake Reenstierna, Eoghan Joy, Jack Healy, Ryan O’Sullivan, Cathal Crowley.

Kilgarvan: Richard O’Sullivan, Eoin O’Shea, Gary Randles, Phoenix Randles, Shane O’Sullivan, Jack Foley, Cian O’Connell, Gearoid Fennessy, Connie Cremin, Ronan Foley(0-2), Dion Murphy(0-1), Tadhg O’Donoghue(0-2), Padraig Dillon(0-1), Donal O’Sullivan(2-9, 4f), Corey Murphy(0-2). Sub: Daragh O’Brien for Padraig Dillon.

Division 5 Table after Round 8