Minor Football League Division 8 Rd 2
13 March 2022, 2:00 pm
4-8 - 3-4
Laune Rangers
Minor Boys White

Match Report

Laune Rangers Minor Whites versus Cordal

Cordal Scartaglen 4-8, Laune Rangers White 3-4

The Laune Rangers White team – competing in Division 8 of the County Minor Leagues – travelled to Cordal on Sunday afternoon to face Cordal/Scartaglen and the young side, without as many as ten eligible Minors on the day for various reasons, relied on a number of Under 15s making the step up in grade to take the field.  The home side were themselves tight on numbers, and so the game was played at 13 a side.

Cordal/Scart scored the game’s first two points in the early minutes, but Rian Hogan scored an excellent goal to give Rangers the lead after six minutes.  However, the home side regained their lead with a goal of their own a couple of minutes later.  Logan Foley pointed for Rangers but Cordal/Scart soon cancelled it out, and followed up with their second goal to leave the home side leading by 2-3 to 1-1 after 18 minutes.

John Horgan pointed twice for the visitors, before a Andrew Owens cleverly chipped the goalkeeper for a goal to level the game.  Cordal/Scart replied with a point late in the half to take a slender lead into the break.

Half Time Score:- Cordal/Scartaglen 2-4, Laune Rangers White 2-3.

Cordal/Scart doubled their lead with a point early in the second half, but Rangers regained the lead as Cathal Moroney tapped in the rebound from his own saved shot for a goal.  A Cordal/Scart point was cancelled out by Logan Foley, but this would be Rangers’ final score of the game.  Seánie Diggin received his marching orders, and this effectively ended Rangers chances in the game.  Cordal/Scart scored a lobbed goal of their own to regain the lead, and added two points before a final late fourth goal to add decoration to the scoreline.

Full Time Score:- Cordal/Scartaglen 4-8, Laune Rangers 3-4.

Laune Rangers White (13 a side):- Dylan Flynn, Seán O’Donnell, Micheál O’Shea, Denis McGeever, Ned O’Grady, Callum O’Sullivan, Logan Foley (0-2), Devon Hogan, Rian Hogan (1-0), Seán Diggin, Cathal Moroney (1-0), John Horgan (0-2), Andrew Owens (1-0).  Subs: Alex Garry for O’Grady, Patrick O’Donnell for R Hogan, Callum Russell for Horgan.