Minor Football League Division 8 Rd 4
7 April 2022, 7:00 pm
0-10 - 2-14
Laune Rangers
Minor Boys White

Match Report

Minor White vs Currow

Currow 0-10, Laune Rangers White 2-14

Laune Rangers Minor Boys White team earned an away victory over Currow on Thursday evening in their final group game in Division 8 of the County League.

A tightly contested first half saw the home side leading by a point at the break.  Currow had twice cancelled out Rangers points with pointed frees in the early stages – first from Gavin Mangan and then Logan Foley – before Logan Foley and John Horgan pointed to leave Rangers leading by 0-4 to 0-2 at the midway point of the first half.

A Ryan Carey point was nestled between three for the home side (2 frees) to tie the game, before Currow came close to hitting the net as their shot flashed wide.  Currow also had the ball in the net but the goal was disallowed due to a square ball.  The hosts did add another pointed free to take the lead by the minimum at the short whistle.

Half Time Score:- Currow 0-6, Laune Rangers White 0-5.

Rangers took control of the tie in the third quarter.  Points were added by Gavin Mangan, Ryan Carey & Logan Foley before Rangers scored the first goal of the game – Micheál O’Shea cleverly turning the ball in after being brought to ground by the goalkeeper.  Currow slotted a well taken point before Rian Hogan & Seánie Diggin (pointed mark) scored at the opposite end to leave Laune Rangers leading by 1-10 to 0-7 with fifteen minutes remaining.

Callum O’Sullivan & Andrew Owens extended Rangers’ lead with points but these were nullified by a brace for the hosts as was another point for Rian Hogan.  John Horgan followed up a pointed free with a second Laune Rangers goal as he tapped a loose ball to the bottom corner for the final score of the game.

Full Time Score:- Currow 0-10, Laune Rangers White 2-14

Laune Rangers White:- Conor Buckley, Seán O’Donnell, Denis McGeever, David O’Brien, Callum O’Sullivan (0-1), Gavin Mangan (0-2), Ryan Carey (0-2), Devin Hogan, Micheál O’Shea (1-0), Cathal Moroney, Logan Foley (0-3), Andrew Owens (0-1), Seán Diggin (0-1f), Eoin O’Connell, John Horgan (1-2, 1f).  Subs: Rian Hogan (0-2), Alex Garry.