Central Region Minor Division 1 Rd 2
9 May 2022, 7:00 pm
Laune Rangers
2-16 - 0-6
J P O Sullivan Park
Minor Boys

Match Report

Laune Rangers 2-16, Churchill 0-6

Laune Rangers picked up their second win in the Central Region Minor Division 1 on Monday evening, defeating Churchill in JP O’Sullivan Park.

The first quarter was dominated by the home side as, against the breeze, they raced into a strong lead – points from Rian O’Sullivan, Oisin Birmingham (3), Darragh Clifford (2, 1f) & Tim Mangan giving them a 0-7 to 0-0 lead with fifteen minutes played.

Churchill rallied and scored three points in succession, but this was wiped out at the end of the first half as Micheál O’Shea tapped the ball into the net for his team’s first goal.

Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-7, Churchill 0-3.

John Tuohy increased the Laune Rangers lead with a point at the beginning of the second half, but Rangers unfortunately lost Micheál O’Shea to injury shortly after the restart.  Laune Rangers’ second goal came through Oisín Birmingham who capped an outstanding performance at wing back to bring his tally for the evening to 1-3.  Further points were added through Stevie Gannon (2), Devin Hogan & Rian O’Sullivan before Churchill scored their first point of the second half, to leave Laune Rangers leading by 2-12 to 0-4 with fifteen minutes to play.

Stevie Gannon registered his third point but had it cancelled out by a Churchill point at the other end, but Rangers added final points through Jack Lynch, Andrew Owens and Patryk Radny (free) before a final pointed free by the visitors brought the game to a close.

Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 2-16, Churchill 0-6.

An excellent scoring display saw eleven players get on the scoresheet, although Laune Rangers were defensively sound too.  Shane Clifford was excellent from full back and Conor Buckley was a safe pair of hands between the sticks, while Oisín Birmingham not only topped the scoring list but also contributed to a number of turnovers in an excellent performance.

Laune Rangers:- Conor Buckley, Seán O’Donnell, Shane Clifford, David O’Brien, Gavan Mangan, Tim Mangan (0-1), Oisín Birmingham (1-3), Tom Garry, Devin Hogan (0-1), Rian O’Sullivan (0-2), Logan Foley, John Tuohy (0-1), Micheál O’Shea (1-0), Jack Lynch (0-1), Darragh Clifford (0-2, 1f).  Subs: Callum O’Sullivan, Stephen Gannon (0-3), Patryk Radny (0-1f), Andrew Owens (0-1), Denis McGeever, Cathal Moroney, Seán Diggin.