Central Region Minor Division 1 Rd 4
23 May 2022, 7:00 pm
2-14 - 0-9
Laune Rangers
Minor Boys

Match Report

Ardfert 2-14, Laune Rangers 0-9

Laune Rangers Minor Boys went to Ardfert on Monday evening in Division 1 of the Central Region competition, but it was the home side to eased to victory.

There was little between the sides in the early exchanges, and it took until the 7th minute for the game’s first score – wing back Devin Hogan pointing Rangers ahead.  Rian O’Sullivan doubled the Rangers lead, but the home side got into the game then, and slotted three points in succession (1 free) to lead with fifteen minutes played.

Two Stephen Gannon points and a pointed free by Darragh Clifford saw Laune Rangers ahead again at the break.

Half Time Score:- Ardfert 0-3, Laune Rangers 0-5.

Ardfert reversed the scoreline with four quickfire points at the beginning of the second half, but Darragh Clifford kicked a super long range free against the breeze from the ground and Jack Lynch added another well taken point to level matters.  Ardfert kicked on from here though, and the home side added three points (one free) to lead by 0-10 to 0-7 with fifteen minutes remaining.

Darragh Clifford added another free for Rangers but Ardfert were on the ascendancy, and they scored an unanswered 1-4 to take the game away from the visitor – the goal, incidentally, the first Laune Rangers Blue team have conceded in 2022 after eight clean sheets.  Darragh Clifford replicated his earlier long range free from the ground, but a second Ardfert goal put some decoration on the scoreline – goalkeeper Patryk Radny unable to do anything about the ball rebound off the top of the crossbar into the waiting arms of an Ardfert attacker for an easy finish.

Full time Score:- Ardfert 2-14, Laune Rangers 0-9.

Laune Rangers:- Patryk Radny, Seán O’Donnell, Shane Clifford, David O’Brien, Devin Hogan (0-1), Tim Mangan, Gavan Mangan, Tom Garry, Rian O’Sullivan (0-1), John Tuohy, Jack Lynch (0-1), Ryan Carey, Stephen Gannon (0-2), Darragh Clifford (0-4f), Seán Diggin.  Subs: Andrew Owens, Matthew Spillane, Logan Foley, Cathal Moroney, Callum O’Sullivan.