Mid Kerry Junior League Rd 3
16 July 2022, 7:00 pm
2-9 - 2-14
Laune Rangers
Senior B Team

Match Report

Beaufort B 2-9, Laune Rangers B 2-14

Laune Rangers got the better of Beaufort in Round 3 of the Mid Kerry Junior League on Saturday evening and, in doing so, booked their place in the Final of the competition they won last year.

Opposing wing backs Ciarán O’Sullivan and Timmy Casey traded points in the early minutes before Laune Rangers added points through Mikey O’Sullivan, Colm O’Shea and Eamonn Carey to take the lead.  Two pointed frees by Mick O’Sullivan left Rangers leading by 0-4 to 0-3 at the midway point of the first half.

Marc Clifford and Cian O’Shea (free) added points as Laune Rangers began to dominate possession, although Jason Foley pulled off an excellent save from Cillian Foley to deny Rangers their first goal.  Jack Sweeney pointed for the home side before Rangers finally did rattle the net – Cillian Foley’s kick going across the square before being punched home by Aona O’Shea.

Half Time Score:- Beaufort B 0-5, Laune Rangers B 1-6.

Mike Frank Russell – not long after his Half Time introduction – added to the Rangers lead with a point before the visitors scored a second goal – two great foot passes from Marc Clifford and Jack O’Sullivan quickly feeding Colm O’Shea, who in turn passed across to his brother Cian to apply a great finish to the top corner.  Mick O’Sullivan and Jack O’Sullivan traded points, as did Timmy Casey and Morgan O’Sullivan (offensive mark).  O’Shea brothers Cian (2) and Gavin pointed to leave Rangers leading by 2-12 to 0-7 with fifteen minutes to play.

The eleven point deficit Beaufort found themselves with was soon halved as two points were followed by their first goal.  Mike Frank Russell pointed but Beaufort scored their second goal a minute later.  Laune Rangers weathered the storm, however, and a pointed free by Cian O’Shea was the final point of the game.

Full Time Score:- Beaufort B 2-9, Laune Rangers B 2-14.

Laune Rangers B:- Adam Carey, Patrick Brennan, Cormac Johnston, Daniel Evans, Ciarán O’Sullivan (0-1), Killian Spillane, Aona O’Shea (1-0), Michael O’Sullivan (0-1), Oisín Flynn, Cian O’Shea (1-4, 2f), Marc Clifford (0-1), Cillian Foley, Eamonn Carey (0-1), Colm O’Shea (0-1), Jack Healy.  Subs: Jack O’Sullivan (0-1) for Healy, Michael F Russell (0-2) for Evans, Morgan O’Sullivan (0-1f) for Michael O’Sullivan, Gavin O’Shea (0-1) for Colm O’Shea, Jack Healy for C O’Sullivan.