County Minor Football Championship Rd 3
1 August 2022, 7:00 pm
Laune Rangers
2-9 - 1-12
West Kerry
J P O Sullivan Park
Minor Boys

Match Report

Laune Rangers 2-9, West Kerry 1-12

With both teams out of contention, there was only pride to play for in JP O’Sullivan Park on Bank Holiday Monday evening as Laune Rangers hosted West Kerry in the final round of group games in the County Minor Championship.

West Kerry led by 0-4 to 0-3 with a quarter of the game played, as two pointed frees and two from play kept them ahead of Stephen Gannon and John Burke’s (2) points for Rangers.  Darragh Clifford pointed an excellent free from the ground in difficult conditions to level matters before John Burke found the net to give Rangers the lead.  After the sides had traded points (Seánie Diggin for Rangers), West Kerry were level again as the visitors struck for a goal.  Another Seánie Diggin point was nullified by West Kerry to see the sides go in to the shelter of the dressing room level at the break.

Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-6, West Kerry 1-6.

West Kerry scored three points in succession (one free) at the start of the second half, but Laune Rangers equalized with a fantastic goal by Stevie Gannon and with fifteen minutes to play, the sides still couldn’t be separated at 2-6 to 1-9.  Tom Garry and Rian O’Sullivan added points to nudge Rangers ahead by two, but West Kerry responded with a brace of their own level the game again.  A super point by Tom Garry put Rangers ahead once more but West Kerry were given another chance to level matters as a free from inside the 21 metre line was slotted by their goalkeeper, and the final whistle was blown without any injury time being played.

Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 2-9, West Kerry 1-12.

Laune Rangers:- Conor Buckley, Tim Mangan, Shane Clifford, Matthew Spillane, Gavan Mangan, Oisín Birmingham, Devin Hogan, John Burke (capt, 1-2), Patryk Radny, Niall O’Brien, Tom Garry (0-2), Rian O’Sullivan, Seán Diggin (0-1), Darragh Clifford (0-1f), Stephen Gannon (1-2).  Subs: Ryan Carey for Hogan, Aaron Doyle for Burke.