Mid Kerry Senior Championship Semi Final
20 November 2022, 2:30 pm
Laune Rangers
1-9 - 1-13
J P O Sullivan Park
Senior Men

Match Report

Laune Rangers team Mid Kerry Semi Final 20-11-2022

Laune Rangers 1-9, Milltown/Castlemaine 1-13

Laune Rangers’ season came to a close on Sunday afternoon with defeat to Milltown/Castlemaine in the Mid Kerry Semi Final in JP O’Sullivan Park.  It took 80 minutes to separate the sides, however, with extra time required to decide a winner.

Eoghan Hassett opened the scoring on the day with a deft point.  However, the visitors responded to score twice as Éanna O’Connor pointed a free before David Roche put his side ahead.  A John Tyther free levelled matters before Eoghan Hassett added a free to give Laune Rangers the lead by 0-3 to 0-2 with fifteen minutes played.  Laune Rangers had much of the ball in this time, but a few wides stopped them from building a stronger early lead.

Éanna O’Connor added a brace of frees for Milltown/Castlemaine, while Gearóid Hassett split the posts to level matters again in the 20th minute.  There would be no further score in the first half as the sides went in level at the break.

Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-4, Milltown/Castlemaine 0-4.

Jerome Flynn pointed a mark after an excellent catch to give the away side the lead, and he added a point from play a minute later.  Eoghan Hassett halved the deficit with a pointed free for Laune Rangers, before the hosts were presented with a gilt-edged opportunity to take the lead – Eoin Clifford put through on goal after a great move and the Laune Rangers captain was hauled down in the square for a penalty.  John Tyther made no mistake with the spot kick to put his side ahead.  A pointed free by Éanna O’Connor left Laune Rangers ahead by 1-5 to 0-7 with fifteen minutes played.

Laune Rangers led by three points following Eoghan Hassett & John Tyther’s pointed frees, but Milltown/Castlemaine upped a gear for the final ten minutes with substitute Jonathan O’Sullivan joining defenders Pa Wrenn and Gavin McKenna in kicking points to level the game.  Indeed, Éanna O’Connor had a chance to win it in injury time but his free went wide to extend the game for a further 20 minutes.

Score after Normal Time:- Laune Rangers 1-7, Milltown/Castlemaine 0-10.

On a wet an dreary afternoon in Killorglin, the lights at JP O’Sullivan Park were turned on for extra time.  Both sides were conservative for the first few minutes, and an Éanna O’Connor pointed free was cancelled out with an excellent left footed point by John Tyther.  The game’s decisive score came late in the first half of extra time though – Milltown/Castlemaine substitute Seán Hogan getting his fist to a dropping ball as he collided with goalkeeper Padraig Ahern in the Laune Rangers goalmouth.

Half Time in ET Score:- Laune Rangers 1-8, Milltown/Castlemaine 1-11.

Caution had to be thrown to the wind for the final period, and Milltown/Castlemaine were able to press on with points by Cathal Moriarty & Jonathan O’Sullivan.  Eoghan Hassett pointed a free to reduce the gap and the attempts to score a second goal were all dealt with by the visitors to close out the win.

Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-9, Milltown/Castlemaine 1-14.

Milltown/Castlemaine will play Beaufort – who themselves progressed after a penalty shootout win over Glenbeigh/Glencar – in the Mid Kerry Senior Championship Final.

Laune Rangers:- Padraig Ahern, Patrick Carey, Oisín Daly, Ryan Diggin, Seán Cleary, Peter Crowley, David Mangan, Stephen Sealy, Jack O’Connor, Eoin Clifford (capt), Fiachra Clifford, John Tyther (1-3, 1 pen 2f), Eoghan Hassett (0-5, 4f), Dáire Cleary, Gearóid Hassett (0-1).  Subs: Calum Moriarty, Shane Doona, Eoin O’Sullivan.

Milltown/Castlemaine:- Cormac Leane, Kieran McKenna, Pa Wrenn (0-1), Gavin McKenna (0-1), John O’Connor, Anthony Kelliher, Jeremiah Hayes, David Roche (0-1), Gavin Horan, Cian O’Connor, Éanna O’Connor (0-5f), Kieran Carroll, Donal Kelliher, Cathal Moriarty (0-1), Jerome Flynn (0-2, 1m).  Subs: John Dennehy, Jonathan O’Sullivan (0-2), Seán Hogan (1-0), Dylan O’Neill, Jack Teahan.