Mid Kerry Senior League 
19 February 2023, 2:00 pm
0-10 - 2-6
Laune Rangers
Senior Men

Match Report

Laune Rangers A vs Keel 19-02-2023

Keel 0-10, Laune Rangers 2-6

In contrast to the game at JP O’Sullivan Park, the Laune Rangers A season opener in Keel on Sunday afternoon got underway in wet and windy conditions.  Keel opened the scoring with a David Couchman free but Laune Rangers controlled the remainder of the first quarter.  John Tyther kicked two frees before putting Gearóid Hassett through on goal with a defence splitting pass.  Hassett was brought down inside the square and a penalty was awarded – Tyther making no mistake with the spot kick for the game’s first goal.  A second goal followed a few minutes later as Ryan Diggins shot squeezed past Stephen Cahillane and over the line, with Rory O’Connor following it in to make sure it was scored.  With fifteen minutes played, Laune Rangers led by 2-2 to 0-1.

Keel were growing into the game, and held Rangers scoreless for the remainder of the half.  A pointed offensive mark from Fionán Griffin – one of Keel’s new tranche of 2022 minors – ended their scoreless run.  Keel added a further two points late in the half to trail by four at the break.  Half time Score:- Keel 0-4, Laune Rangers 2-2.

Keel opened the second half scoring with a well taken long range point, before John Tyther and Dáire Cleary scored excellent points of their own for Rangers.  Keel answered back with another to leave Laune Rangers leading by four with a quarter to play.

John Tyther nullified a Keel point with a pointed free before added another a couple of minutes later, but a late surge by Keel closed the gap.  Three consecutive points left a goal separating the sides and, when a late free dropped off the crossbar and over for a point, the full time whistle was blown.  Full Time Score:- Keel 0-10, Laune Rangers 2-6.

Laune Rangers:- Jason Browne, Ryan Diggin (1-0), Patrick Carey, Evan Madden, Rory O’Connor, Seán Cleary, Daragh O’Connor, Eoin O’Sullivan, Jack O’Connor, Gavin O’Shea, John Tyther (1-5, 1 pen 4f), Mark O’Connor, Gearóid Hassett, Stephen Sealy, Dáire Cleary (0-1).  Subs: Darragh O’Grady, James Treacy, Gabriel Griffin.