Minor Football League Division 1 Rd 3
4 March 2023, 3:00 pm
Kenmare Shamrocks
1-10 - 1-8
Laune Rangers
Fr Breen Park, Kenmare
Minor Boys Blue

Match Report

Kenmare Shamrocks 1-10, Laune Rangers 1-8

Laune Rangers got off to a slow start in Father Breen Park, Kenmare on Saturday in Round 3 of the County Minor League Division 1.  They conceded five points in the first quarter before eventually registering their first point in the 17th minute – an excellent point from Darragh Clifford opening his team’s account on the day.

Kenmare added another couple of points, but John Horgan kicked Rangers’ second before the break.  Laune Rangers should have been closer on the scoreboard at the short whistle, but a number of missed chances proved costly – goal chances by Stephen Gannon (off the post) and Niall O’Brien (side netting) leaving a five point cushion between the sides at the interval.

Half Time Score:- Kenmare Shamrocks 0-7, Laune Rangers 0-2.

Laune Rangers fought back in the third quarter and began to create offensively, forcing three frees that were slotted by Darragh Clifford before Eoin O’Connell added another from play – just reward for the midfielder’s excellent performance.

Rangers took the lead in the 40th minutes as James Jones struck for a goal – Charlie O’Sullivan dropping a ball into the square to find Shane Clifford, who in turn fed Jones in front of goal.  Kenmare responded with three points in sucession to wrestle the lead back before Adam O’Neill levelled with a well taken point and Darragh Clifford put Rangers ahead again with an outstanding long range effort.

Kenmare were not to be beaten on the day though, and they responded to score a goal of their own to regain the lead, and they held on to it for the remainder of the game.

Full Time Score:- Kenmare Shamrocks 1-10, Laune Rangers 1-8.

Laune Rangers Blue:- Conor Buckley, Dylan Flynn, Shane Clifford, Seán O’Donnell, Charlie O’Sullivan, Patryk Radny (capt), Niall O’Brien, Eoin O’Connell (0-1), Gavan Mangan, James Jones (1-0), Stephen Gannon, John Horgan (0-1), Adam O’Neill (0-1), Darragh Clifford (0-5, 3f), Seán Diggin.  Subs: Rian Hogan for Diggin, Ned O’Grady for Horgan.