Minor Football League Division 8 Rd 5
18 March 2023, 3:00 pm
Laune Rangers
4-7 - 1-9
J P O Sullivan Park
Minor Boys White

Match Report

Laune Rangers 4-7, Dromid/Waterville 1-9

Laune Rangers Minor Boys White team defeated Dromid/Waterville on Saturday afternoon in Division 8 of the County Minor League, with four goals key to their victory.

Laune Rangers hit the net less than five minutes into the game as Bryan McKenna got the final touch to send the ball to the net, following an earlier pointed free by Conor Buckley.  Dromid/Waterville, playing with the aid of a strong breeze, got into the game and scored the next five points to take the lead in the 20th minute.  A well taken Bryan McKenna point levelled matters and the sides remained level into the break.

Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-2, Dromid/Waterville 0-5

The second half began in similar fashion to the first, with Laune Rangers striking for goal early on – Ryan Carey with the strike after some great passing to put him through.  Cathal Moroney (free), Oran O’Sullivan & Alex Garry all added points to see Laune Rangers leading by 2-5 to 0-5 with fifteen minutes to play.

Dromid/Waterville pointed a free before striking for a goal of their own, and two further points saw the sides level again in the 52nd minute.  A Cathal Moroney free regained the lead for Rangers, and they would hold on to it after that.  Oran O’Sullivan tapped the ball to the net for a third goal, before Patrick O’Donnell came upfield to score a well taken point.  Andrew Owens added a fourth goal – completing the set of all starting forwards getting on the scoresheet – while a late Dromid/Waterville point was added before the end.

Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 4-7, Dromid/Waterville 1-9

Laune Rangers:- James Jones, Callum Russell, David O’Brien, Brian Foley, Ned O’Grady, Patrick O’Donnell (0-1), Denis McGeever, Conor Buckley (capt, 0-1f), Callum O’Sullivan, Alex Garry (0-1), Ryan Carey (1-0), Oran O’Sullivan (1-1), Bryan McKenna (1-1), Cathal Moroney (0-2f), Andrew Owens (1-0).  Subs: Liam O’Connell, Adam Radny,  Rian Hogan, Dylan Flynn.