Senior Football League Division 2 Rd 4
23 April 2023, 3:30 pm
Laune Rangers
0-16 - 1-10
Na Gaeil
J P O Sullivan Park
Senior Men

Match Report

Calum Moriarty on the ball with Andrew Barry in pursuit

Laune Rangers 0-16, Na Gaeil 1-10

Laune Rangers picked up their second win of the Credit Union County SFL Division 2 campaign on Sunday afternoon, with victory over Na Gaeil in a highly entertaining clash at JP O’Sullivan Park.

Although they were playing into a stiff breeze in the first half, Laune Rangers raced into a six point lead in the opening 12 minutes playing some fantastic football.  Jack O’Connor, Eoin O’Sullivan, Eoin Clifford, Rory O’Connor, Matt Leslie (free) and Shane Daly all raised the white flag with well taken points, before Na Gaeil got on the board with a point through Andrew Barry to leave the home side leading by 0-6 to 0-1 with fifteen minutes played.

Na Gaeil dominated the second quarter as they began to make full use of the breeze at their backs.  The O’Connor trio Kieran, Seán and James all pointed and Dara Devine added another from a free to leave the minimum between the sides.  Laune Rangers created the first real goal chance deep into first half additional time as Eoin O’Sullivan sliced through the Na Gaeil defence only to see his shot at goal sneak outside the post and wide.  In the fifth additional minute played in the half, Seán O’Connor curled over an excellent point to level matters in time for the break.

Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-6, Na Gaeil 0-6.

Matt Leslie & Jack O’Connor put Laune Rangers back in front with points in the opening minutes of the second half before Laune Rangers created another goal chance – Jack O’Connor with a great run in from the right side line before passing across to Eoin O’Sullivan who saw his palmed effort saved brilliantly by Devon Burns.  The Na Gaeil goalkeeper added more heroics in the following minutes, slotting over a free kick for his side to halve their deficit before levelling the game with a successful 45’.  Back on his own line, Burns saved another goal attempt – this time from substitute Gearóid Hassett – before seeing the rebound fall to Dáire Cleary whose shot rattled the crossbar and went clear to safety.  With fifteen minutes to play, the sides could not be separated at 0-8 a piece.

Na Gaeil took the lead for the first time through a Jack Doyle point, but it was short lived as Laune Rangers responded within a minute with a Jack O’Connor point.  Like his brother Gearóid, Eoghan Hassett was introduced from the bench midway through the second half, and he scored two in succession (one free) before Gearóid kicked an excellent point to put Rangers three ahead.

The drama was not finished yet.  Na Gaeil levelled the game again in the 56th minute with a goal finished by James O’Connor.  However, Laune Rangers didn’t let their heads drop and powered on in the final minutes.  A point from Jack O’Connor – his fourth – was followed by points from substitute Shane Doona, Dáire Cleary and Gearóid Hassett to put the home side four points ahead four minutes into additional time at the end of the game.  Play continued for another three minutes as Na Gaeil attacked in pursuit of a goal, but the defence held out and after Dara Devine had tapped over a free for the visitors, the final whistle was blown.

Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-16, Na Gaeil 1-10.

Andrew Barry was at the heart of everything good produced by Na Gaeil on the day, while James O’Connor and Seán O’Connor also stood out for the visitors.  For Laune Rangers, the impact made from the bench was key to the win, while Stephen Sealy, Calum Moriarty & particularly Jack O’Connor excelled on the way to a home win.

Laune Rangers:- Padraig Ahern, Seán Arthurs, David Mangan (jt capt), Seán Cleary, Eoin Clifford (0-1), Patrick Carey, Rory O’Connor (0-1), Stephen Sealy , Shane Daly (0-1), Jack O’Connor (0-4), John Tyther, Calum Moriarty, Dáire Cleary (jt capt, 0-1), Eoin O’Sullivan (0-1), Matthew Leslie (0-2, 1f).  Subs: Ryan Diggin for Clifford, Eoghan Hassett (0-2, 1f) for Tyther, Gearóid Hassett (0-2) for Carey, Evan Madden for R O’Connor, Shane Doona (0-1) for Leslie.

Na Gaeil:- Devon Burns (0-2, 1f 1 45’), Ruairí O’Sullivan, Niall O’Mahony, Jimi O’Suilleabháin, Fergal Barry, Damien Bourke, Kieran O’Donovan, James O’Connor (1-1), Jack Doyle (0-1), Kian Sheehan, Andrew Barry (capt, 0-1), Kieran O’Connor (0-1), Seán O’Connor (0-2), Dara Devine (0-2f), Jack Sheehan.  Sub: Eoin O’Neill for S O’Connor.

Senior A vs Na Gaeil 23-04-2023