Senior Football League Division 2 Rd 8
4 June 2023, 2:00 pm
2-9 - 1-15
Laune Rangers
Senior Men

Match Report

Rory OConnor vs Padraig Doona

Beaufort 2-9, Laune Rangers 1-15

Laune Rangers picked up two valuable League points on Sunday afternoon, with victory over Beaufort in scorching conditions at Pete Coughlan Park.

The first half was a story of goal chances taken by one side and not by the other.  Laune Rangers trailed by a point at the break, but could have led had they taken any of three goal chances that were spurned.

Fergal Hallissey opened the scoring with a point after a minute but Eoghan Hassett responded with a pointed free, while Darragh O’Connor and Matt Leslie traded pointed frees to maintain the stalemate in the opening minutes.  Points were added for Beaufort through Liam Carey and Padraig Doona – the latter a shot at goal that flashed over the crossbar.  Laune Rangers came close to the first goal of the game as a well worked team move sliced through the Beaufort defence, but John Tyther’s shot from a tight angle rolled across the goal and outside the far post.

Being down a number of team members provided the opportunity for others to step up and one that made an immediate impression was Tom Whittleton – making his Senior A debut – and the midfielder deservedly got himself on the scoresheet to leave Beaufort leading 0-4 to 0-3 with fifteen minutes played.

Dáire Cleary cut through the defence only to see his shot bounce back from the upright to deny him a goal, but Pa Carey reacted well to knock the ball over the bar for a point.  The woodwork was rattled once more as Eoin O’Sullivan’s shot ricocheted off the crossbar, and Rangers were punished a minute later as Darragh O’Connor found the net at the other end.

Calum Moriarty pointed for Rangers before Beaufort struck for their second goal – Liam Carey tapping in from close range.  Seán Cleary and Eoghan Hassett pointed for Rangers while Fergal Hallissey pointed a free at the other end.  A key score came late in the half, as Laune Rangers were finally rewarded for all their efforts in creating chances.  Following quick passing by Matt Leslie & Rory O’Connor, Dáire Cleary was put through and knocked the ball into the net with his fist to leave Laune Rangers trailing by the minimum at the break.

Half Time Score:- Beaufort 2-5, Laune Rangers 1-7.

An early Eoghan Hassett point levelled matter at the start of the second half, and it stayed that way for a large portion of the third quarter.  Beaufort made a couple of noteworthy substitutions on the day, and Seán O’Brien was introduced shortly after the resumption joining Mike Breen who too the field before the interval – both men part of Kerry’s match day squad against Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Saturday.

Laune Rangers took the lead for the first time with a Matt Leslie free but it was soon cancelled out by a Mike Breen point.  Eoin O’Sullivan had another shot at goal saved by Seán Coffey, but Laune Rangers did take the lead again with a pointed 45’ by Tom Whittleton.  Pa Carey added a superb point to put Laune Rangers ahead by 1-11 to 2-6 with fifteen minutes remaining, but John Tyther was sent to the sin bin leaving his side a man down for much of the final quarter.

Although they were playing with only 14, Laune Rangers stepped up their game to hold on to their lead for the rest of the game.  Fergal Hallissey pointed a free, but Matt Leslie and John Burke added scores for the visitors.  Liam Carey responded with a point for the hosts but Laune Rangers had managed out their sin bin period well.  An inspirational point by Ryan Diggin put Rangers three ahead and, as time was running out for the home side, Eoghan Hassett pointed what turned out to be the insurance score to secure the win.  Jack O’Connor pointed a free for Beaufort but Laune Rangers held on to win, with Josh Coffey being brandished a second yellow card and receiving his marching orders seconds before the final whistle.

Full Time Score:- Beaufort 2-9, Laune Rangers 1-15.

Beaufort:- Seán Coffey, Ethan Coffey, Seán Kelliher, Josh Coffey, Padraig O’Sullivan, Jeremiah O’Sullivan, Timmy Casey, Nathan Breen, Fergal Hallissey (0-3, 2f), Padraig Doona (0-1), Liam Carey (1-2), Danny Healy, Darragh O’Connor (1-1, 1f), Jack O’Connor (0-1f), Mikey Moriarty.  Subs: Mike Breen (0-1) for Moriarty, Seán O’Brien for P O’Sullivan.

Laune Rangers:- Padraig Ahern, Ryan Diggin (0-1), Conor Murphy, Seán Cleary (0-1), Rory O’Connor, Patrick Carey (0-2), Calum Moriarty (0-1), Shane Daly, Tom Whittleton (0-2, 1 ‘45), John Burke (0-1), Eoghan Hassett (0-4, 2f), John Tyther, Dáire Cleary (1-0), Matthew Leslie (0-3, 2f), Eoin O’Sullivan.  Subs: Fiachra Clifford for Burke, Killian Spillane for Diggin, Jack O’Sullivan for Leslie.

Laune Rangers team vs Beaufort 04-06-2023

county league Division 2