Senior Football League Division 5A Rd 4
23 April 2023, 1:30 pm
Laune Rangers
1-10 - 2-12
J P O Sullivan Park
Senior B Team

Match Report

B Team vs Duagh action

Laune Rangers B 1-10, Duagh 2-12

Laune Rangers were defeated by Duagh in the first game of Sunday’s double header in JP O’Sullivan Park.

Duagh opened the scoring with a Killian Buckley free before Cian O’Shea equalized with a well taken point.  Two Nigel O’Connor points for the visitors saw Duagh leading by 0-3 to 0-1 with fifteen minutes played.

Cian O’Shea pointed a free to reduce the gap but Duagh’s full forward line were firing, and Nigel O’Connor, Killian Buckley (free) and Ted Moloney notched a point each.  Laune Rangers finished the half strongly, and a Daragh O’Connor point was followed by a Laune Rangers goal to see the sides head for the pavilion level at the break – Tom Whittleton instrumental in setting up Gabe Griffin who made no mistake with the finish.

Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers B 1-3, Duagh 0-6.

A strong third quarter by the home side saw Laune Rangers take a three point lead through some fantastic score-taking by Cian O’Shea, leaving the hosts ahead by 1-6 to 0-6 with fifteen minutes remaining.  The game changed in minutes, as a point from substitute Mark Joy was followed by points by Ted Moloney and Killian Buckley (2, a free & a 45’) to put Duagh ahead.  Duagh then struck for a goal to put four between the sides as Ted Moloney applied the finish and, after Marc Clifford had kicked a nice point for Rangers at the other end, the North Kerry outfit struck again as Nigel O’Connor buried the ball to the net.

Gabriel Griffin traded points with Killian Buckley before doing the same with Nigel O’Connor (free) as time wound down on the game, and a late point by Colm O’Shea would prove to be the last score of the game.

Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers B 1-10, Duagh 2-12.

Laune Rangers B:- Morgan O’Sullivan, Killian Spillane, Jonathan Carey, Conor Murphy, James Treacy, Michael O’Sullivan (capt), Ciarán O’Sullivan, Tom Whittleton, Aona O’Shea, Daragh O’Connor (0-1), Gabriel Griffin (1-2), Jack O’Sullivan, Cian O’Shea (0-5, 1f), Marc Clifford (0-1), Gavin O’Shea.  Subs: Cillian Foley for G O’Shea, Cathal O’Callaghan for Murphy, Jack Healy for Carey, Colm O’Shea (0-1) for Clifford, Callum Russell for J O’Sullivan.

Duagh:- Denis O’Keeffe, Luke O’Donnell, Muirioch McNulty, Jack Moloney, Eoin Shanahan, Arron O’Connor, Gerry O’Connor, Donnacha Maher, Joey Shanahan, Seanan O’Caoimh, Tom Scanlon, Oisín Moloney, Ted Moloney (1-2), Nigel O’Connor (capt, 1-4, 1f), Killian Buckley (0-5, 4f).  Subs: Mark Joy (0-1).

B Team vs Duagh 23-04-2023