Central Region Minor Division 1 Final
15 May 2023, 7:00 pm
Laune Rangers
2-13 - 0-11
Minor Boys

Match Report

Minor Central Final winners

Laune Rangers 2-13, Milltown/Castlemaine 0-11

For a fourth consecutive season, Laune Rangers claimed the Central Region Minor Division 1 title with victory over neighbours Milltown/Castlemaine in Keel on Monday evening.

Laune Rangers got off to a slow start and conceded the first three points of the game with Eoghan Corbett (two frees) and Ben Carroll scoring, and the gap between the sides may have been wider but for a few wides and a missed goal opportunity for Milltown/Castlemaine.

Laune Rangers settled in the game and got on the board with a well taken Patryk Radny point, leaving Milltown/Castlemaine ahead by 0-3 to 0-1 with fifteen minutes played.

Eoghan Corbett pointed another free but Laune Rangers dominated the second quarter and took a five point lead into the break.  Points in quick succession by Darragh Clifford (two, one free), Patrick O’Donnell and James Jones were followed by the first goal of the game – John Horgan smashing the ball to the net.

Half Time Score:- 1-6, Milltown/Castlemaine 0-4.

Laune Rangers picked up where they left off on the outset of the second half.  A Seánie Diggin point was cancelled out by an Eoghan Corbett free before Laune Rangers added some excellent points through Patryk Radny, Charlie O’Sullivan, Seánie Diggin & John Horgan to lead by 1-11 to 0-5 with fifteen minutes remaining.

Milltown/Castlemaine rallied and kicked four of their own in succession through Liam O’Dowd, Eoghan Corbett (free), James Dempsey and Cian O’Brien.  Laune Rangers were not to be chased down though.  Andrew Owens and James Jones added points with Eoghan Corbett replying with one for Milltown/Castlemaine, before Niall O’Brien scored Laune Rangers’ second goal to finish a great team move.  A final pointed free was added by Eoghan Corbett, but the final whistle came to see Laune Rangers claim a comfortable win in the end.

Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 2-13, Milltown/Castlemaine 0-11.

Laune Rangers:- Conor Buckley, Dylan Flynn, David O’Brien, Matthew Spillane, Charlie O’Sullivan (0-1), Niall O’Brien (1-1, 1f), James Jones (0-2), Eoin O’Connell, Patryk Radny (0-2), Oran O’Sullivan, John Horgan(1-1), Seán Diggin (capt, 0-2), Patrick O’Donnell (0-1), Darragh Clifford (0-2, 1f), Andrew Owens (0-1).  Subs: Rian Hogan, Brian Foley, Cathal Moroney, Denis McGeever, Callum Russell, Ryan Carey, Callum O’Sullivan, Logan Foley, Adam O’Neill, Seán O’Donnell, Aaron Doyle, Gavin Mangan, Alex Garry, Ned O’Grady, Shane Clifford, Stephen Gannon.