Mid Kerry Junior League Rd 1
20 June 2023, 7:00 pm
0-17 - 2-14
Laune Rangers
Senior B Team

Match Report

B team vs Keel 20-06-2023

Keel 0-17, Laune Rangers 2-14

Laune Rangers defeated Keel on Tuesday evening in the opening round of the Mid Kerry Junior League.  With a County U21 Semi final only 24 hours away, Laune Rangers were depleted, but still put in a great performance in a highly entertaining game in Keel.

Cian O’Shea pointed twice to open the scoring, but Keel grew into the game and slot three in succession to take the lead.  Laune Rangers continued to control possession and excellent points by Cillian Buckley and Mark O’Connor were followed by Laune Rangers first goal – Cian O’Shea applying the finishing touch.

Keel pointed again before Cillian Buckley added a well taken point, and Colm O’Shea pointed a free from short range after a foul on his brother Cian.  With fifteen minutes played, Laune Rangers led by 1-4 to 0-3.

Keel recovered well from the goal and scored three points in quick succession.  Jack Healy and Cillian Buckley continued the excellent scoring display with further points, while three more Keel points (two frees) were followed by Eamonn Carey who rounded off the first half scoring with a point before the short whistle.

Half Time Score:- Keel 0-10, Laune Rangers 1-9.

Points by Morgan O’Sullivan, Cillian Buckley & Mark O’Connor extended the Laune Rangers lead to five, but a Keel reply saw the visitors take a 1-12 to 0-11 lead into the final quarter.

A Mark O’Connor point was sandwiched between two Keel points before Laune Rangers scored what was a decisive second goal – Cillian Foley put through on goal and he made no mistake with a composed finish to the net.

Keel pointed twice before Cillian Buckley kicked his fifth point of the evening – all of them excellent scores – and, while Keel would tag on another couple of points, Laune Rangers managed out the remainder of the game to claim the win.

Full Time Score:- Keel 0-17, Laune Rangers 2-14.

Laune Rangers:- Jake Reenstierna, Joseph Cronin Langham, James Byrne, Daniel Evans, Cillian Foley (1-0), Michael O’Sullivan (capt), Oisín Flynn, Jack Healy (0-1), Morgan O’Sullivan (0-1), Cillian Buckley (0-5), Mark O’Connor (0-3), Adam Owens, Cian O’Shea (1-2), Colm O’Shea (0-1f), Eamonn Carey (0-1).  Subs: Darragh O’Shea, Darragh Evans.