Mid Kerry Junior League Rd 2
27 June 2023, 7:30 pm
Laune Rangers
0-15 - 1-11
J P O Sullivan Park
Senior B Team

Match Report

Laune Rangers 0-15, Beaufort 1-11

Laune Rangers defeated Beaufort on Tuesday evening in Round 2 of the Mid Kerry Junior League at JP O’Sullivan Park.  Before the game, a minute’s silence was observed in memory of former Laune Rangers player and coach Danny Cahill.

Laune Rangers led by the minimum after five minutes as Beaufort scored points through Kieran Johnston and Jack Sweeney squeezed between a brace of great scores by Callum Russell for Rangers – one from each foot – before Cian O’Shea pointed a free.

Darragh O’Grady (mark) and James Treacy increased the lead to leave Laune Rangers ahead by 0-5 to 0-2 with fifteen minutes played.

Cian O’Shea and Cian O’Sullivan traded points before Darragh O’Grady and Gavin O’Shea added extras for the home side.  A Seán Kelliher point left four between the sides at the break, although Adam Carey pulled off a great save to stop Beaufort getting back to within one before the short whistle.

Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-8, Beaufort 0-4.

Points were exchanged twice between Jack Sweeney & Cian O’Shea (free) before O’Shea added another free.  Half Time substitute Padraig Doona scored his pointed free to leave his side trailing by 0-11 to 0-7 with fifteen minutes to play.

Padraig Doona added two more pointed frees before Oisín Birmingham – introduced a few minutes earlier for his first appearance in the adult age grades – got on the scoresheet with an excellent point.

Callum Russell and Kieran O’Sullivan traded points before substitute Adam Owens split the posts to extend the home team’s lead.  A late goal scored by Beaufort replacement Jeremiah O’Sullivan made for a nervous finish with only a point between the sides.

Cillian Buckley scored an excellent point after being introduced before Padraig Doona cancelled it out with a pointed free.  Laune Rangers held on to win their second game of the Mid Kerry Junior League.

Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-15, Beaufort 1-11.

Laune Rangers:- Adam Carey, Daniel Evans, Jonathan Carey, Cathal O’Callaghan, James Treacy (0-1), Michael O’Sullivan (capt), Oisín Flynn, Callum Russell (0-3), Gavin O’Shea (0-1), Tom Garry, Cian O’Shea (0-5, 3f), Mark O’Connor, Darragh O’Grady (0-2, 1mk), Colm O’Shea, Michael O’Donnell.  Subs: Adam Owens (0-1) for Garry, Oisín Birmingham (0-1) for Flynn, Cillian Buckley (0-1) for Colm O’Shea.

Beaufort:- Jason Foley, Ruairí Dorrian, Donnacha Coffey, Mark O’Sullivan, Oran Smith, Kieran O’Sullivan (0-1), Sam Roberts, Seán Kelliher (0-1), Cormac Joy, Mick O’Sullivan, Kieran Johnston (0-1), Padraig O’Sullivan, Simon Coffey, Jack Sweeney (0-3, 1f), Cian O’Sullivan (0-1).  Subs: Padraig Hallissey (0-4, 3f) for Joy, Padraig Doona for C O’Sullivan, Rory Farrell for Johnston, Jeremiah O’Sullivan (1-0) for M O’Sullivan.