Senior Football League Division 2 Final
15 July 2023, 4:30 pm
Laune Rangers
2-12 - 4-15
Dr Crokes
Senior Men

Match Report

Eoin O Sullivan leap

Glenflesk 4-15, Laune Rangers 2-12

Glenflesk claimed the title of Credit Union County Senior Football League Champions on Saturday evening, as they defeated Laune Rangers in Lewis Road, Killarney.

The Playoff Final was organised at short notice, as the original three-way playoff was thrown out after An Ghaeltacht withdrew from the process to decide the Division 2 Champion.

The sides were both short-handed, with the Killorglin side depleted with injured players and holiday makers joining their J1 contingent in the absentee list.  Glenflesk were also short of a few key players, but welcomed Chris O’Donoghue into the fold – the Kerry squad member released for the weekend to play for his club.

The first quarter was a tit for tat affair, with John Tyther & Eoghan Hassett pointing for Laune Rangers while Tommy Bowler replied to each with pointed frees.  A Matthew Leslie point temporarily nudged the Killorglin men ahead, but Glenflesk took a lead in the 13th minute that they would hold for the rest of the game.  Tommy Bowler was brought down in the square and his midfield partner Jeff O’Donoghue slotted the resulting penalty to the net.

Seán Doherty kicked Glenflesk’s first score from play before former Kerry Minor teammates Luke Crowley and Eoghan Hassett (free) traded points, leaving the East Kerry side ahead by 1-4 to 0-4 with fifteen minutes played.

Jeff O’Donoghue (free) and Dylan Roche (2) doubled the Glenflesk lead before Chris O’Donoghue struck a hammer blow with his side’s second goal after a kickout was overturned.  An Eoghan Hassett point was cancelled out by Dylan Roche before Fiachra Clifford and Hassett added late points, but Glenflesk were in a commanding position at the short whistle.

Half Time Score:- Glenflesk 2-8, Laune Rangers 0-7.

Shane Daly pointed before Dáire Cleary ended a fantastic solo run with a goal for the Killorglin side to reduce the deficit to three points, but Glenflesk soon found another gear.  Two Tommy Bowler points (one free) preceded Glenflesk’s third goal with an excellent finish by Luke Crowley.

Laune Rangers’ second goal was scored by Calum Moriarty, another fine goal created by a quick team move, leaving the Killorglin men behind by 3-10 to 2-8 with fifteen minutes remaining.

Eoin O’Sullivan and Luke Crowley exchanged points, as did Eoghan Hassett (free) and Kevin Bowler, before the result was well and truly put to bed with Glenflesk’s fourth goal – Dylan Roche capitalising on a turnover in the middle of the field to finish off Laune Rangers as they had pressed up in search of a way back into the game.

Jack O’Sullivan and Fiachra Clifford would score further points for Laune Rangers, but between this brace was a trio of points for Glenflesk – Luke Crowley, Killian O’Sullivan and Ian Roche all putting the umpire to work late on.

Full Time Score:- Glenflesk 4-15, Laune Rangers 2-12.

Glenflesk:- Jack O’Donoghue, Chris O’Donoghue, Michael Mullane, Cian Lynch, Denis O’Connor, Killian O’Sullivan, John Kelliher, Tommy Bowler, Jeff O’Donoghue, Seán Doherty, Kevin Bowler, Emmet Finnan (capt), Dylan Roche (1-3), Luke Crowley (1-3), Ian Roche.  Subs: Danny Lucey for Kelliher 50’, Michael O’Shea for D Roche 59’, Kian Crowley for Finnan 59’.

Laune Rangers:- Padraig Ahern, Killian Spillane, Ryan Diggin, Calum Moriarty (1-0), Patrick Carey, Daragh O’Connor, Tom Whittleton, Shane Daly (0-1), Eoin O’Sullivan (0-1), Patrick Daly, Matthew Leslie (0-1), John Tyther (0-1), Eoghan Hassett (0-5, 2f), Dáire Cleary (capt, 1-0), Fiachra Clifford (0-2, 1f).  Subs: James Treacy for Tyther HT, John Burke for Leslie 39’, Oisín Birmingham for O’Connor 50’, Gavin O’Shea for P Daly 54’, Jack O’Sullivan (0-1) for Cleary 57’.

Referee:- Brian Fleming (Currow)

Laune Rangers team vs Glenflesk 15-07-2023