Mid Kerry Junior League Final
25 July 2023, 7:30 pm
Laune Rangers
0-0 - 0-0
Senior B Team

Match Report

Mid Kerry Junior League Champions 2023

Laune Rangers 5-15, Beaufort 2-10

Laune Rangers are Mid Kerry Junior Champions following a comprehensive victory over Beaufort in the Final, played in Glenbeigh on Tuesday evening.

Surprisingly in a game that was so high scoring, it took until the eighth minute for its first – Darragh Dennehy pointing a free, before adding one from play a minute later.

Laune Rangers soon led with Mark O’Connor striking for the bottom corner after being put through by Jack O’Sullivan.  A second goal for the men in blue soon followed – Cian O’Shea with a super finish after his brother Colm had caught a long ball and popped it to him.

A point from Beaufort captain Jack Sweeney left a goal between the sides, 2-0 to 0-3 after fifteen minutes.

Cormac Joy pointed from long range for Beaufort before Laune Rangers skipper Mikey O’Sullivan got on the scoresheet to end a good run forward from midfield.

Cian O’Shea and Darragh Dennehy traded points before O’Shea added two more well taken scores, and a super point from distance by Matt Reenstierna closed out the first half scoring – the two goals for the Killorglin men the difference between the teams at the break.

Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 2-5, Beaufort 0-5.

Beaufort missed a number of kickable chances at the start of the second half before Darragh Dennehy pointed a free, but Laune Rangers replied with points from Jack O’Sullivan, Cian O’Shea and Mark O’Connor.  A Padraig Doona point was cancelled by another Jack O’Sullivan point, while Darragh Dennehy & Cian O’Shea exchanged scores to add to their own tallies.

Laune Rangers were awarded a penalty in the 44th minute after Jack O’Sullivan was brought down, and Cian O’Shea made no mistake for his second goal – O’Shea’s strike the only score not from play in the game for Rangers.  Beaufort were quick with their reply and were awarded a penalty of their own as Padraig Doona was fouled, and Jack Sweeney made no mistake with his finish.  With a quarter of the game to play, Laune Rangers led by 3-10 to 1-8.

Laune Rangers added points from Mark O’Connor, substitute Mike Frank Russell and Cian O’Shea to effectively nullify the Beaufort penalty, before Darragh Dennehy pointed a free for the Beaufort side.

Beaufort scored their second goal from a turnover when Padraig O’Sullivan lobbed the ball over Eamonn Carey.  Darragh Dennehy (free) cancelled out a Jack O’Sullivan point but it would be Beaufort’s last score of the game.  Cian O’Shea brought his tally to 2-6 with another great point before Mike Frank Russell palmed the ball to the net twice for his side’s fourth and fifth goals – Cian O’Shea & Jack O’Sullivan playing a key part in the fourth while O’Sullivan also set up the fifth – and the final whistle was blown to bring the game to a close.

Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 5-15, Beaufort 2-10.

After the game, the Tony Lyons Memorial Cup was presented on behalf of the Lyons Family by Tony Lyons Jr to Laune Rangers captain Mikey O’Sullivan.

Mikey O'Sullivan capt

There were a number of candidates for the Man of the Match Award.  Cian O’Shea’s contribution on the scoreboard was excellent, with 1-6 from play plus a successful spot kick.  Jack O’Sullivan scored three points and could be credited with the ‘assist’ on four of his team’s five goals, providing the final pass on three and getting fouled for the penalty.  Mark O’Connor, Matt Reenstierna & Killian Spillane all stood out on their respective lines, but the award deservedly went to Mikey O’Sullivan who put in an immense performance at midfield.

Mikey O'Sullivan MOM

Laune Rangers:- Eamonn Carey, Killian Spillane, Jonathan Carey, Patrick Brennan, James Treacy, Matthew Reenstierna (0-1), Oisín Birmingham, Michael O’Sullivan (capt, 0-1), Callum Russell, Mark O’Connor (1-2), Gavin O’Shea, Michael O’Donnell, Cian O’Shea (2-6, pen), Colm O’Shea (0-1), Jack O’Sullivan (0-3).  Subs: Michael F Russell (2-1) for Colm O’Shea, James Byrne for Brennan, Oisín Flynn for Treacy, Joseph Cronin Langham for J Carey, Cillian Buckley for O’Donnell.