Intermediate Championship Rd 1
5 August 2023, 7:00 pm
Laune Rangers
1-8 - 2-14
Senior Men

Match Report

Eoin O Sullivan leap

Laune Rangers: 1-08, Kilcummin: 2-14

Laune Rangers and Kilcummin faced off for the opening round fixture in this year’s Kerry Petroleum Intermediate Club Football Championship, Group 3, on Saturday evening in Coughlan Park, Beaufort. An early first half purple period saw Kilcummin hit the front and take a 7-point lead mid-way through the half but this lead was soon quenched by a second quarter revival from Laune Rangers who saw the game level towards the end of the half. Kilcummin re-took the lead soon after, a lead they would never relinquish, and a second half push saw them run out deserved winners at the final whistle.

Laune Rangers opened the scoring with a point from the boot of Matthew Leslie in the opening seconds. Kilcummin responded with a point of their own from Kieran Murphy in the 2nd minute. A Mark O’Shea point put Kilcummin ahead in the 6th minute before another from Paul O’Shea pushed them 0-03 to 0-01 ahead with 8 minutes played. Laune Rangers replied with two on the trot from Fiachra Clifford and Darragh O’Connor to level the game at 0-03 a piece with 13 minutes played. Kilcummin went through for the opening goal in the 14th minute, Chris O’Leary found Kieran Murphy who cooly fired the ball to the back of the Laune Rangers’ net. There was more to come for Kilcummin however and when Cian Foley linked with Donal Maher, Maher was on hand to net Kilcummin’s second goal and suddenly their lead stood at 2-03 to 0-03 with 15 minutes on the clock.

A point from Philip O’Leary in the 16th minute extended Kilcummin’s lead to 7 points. Letting it all to do for Laune Rangers, even at this early stage. Matthew Leslie pointed a mark in the 17th minute for Laune Rangers to let the goals between the sides. Kilcummin were dealt a blow in the 23rd minute when Chris O’Leary received a black card and headed for the line. Eoghan Hassett pointed the resulting free for Rangers to let the score 2-04 to 0-05 with 23 minutes played. Laune Rangers continued to press and won several kickouts in the minutes that followed. A converted 45’ from goalkeeper Jason Browne as well as a point from Fiachra Clifford left just 3 points between the teams in the 29th minute, 2-04 to 0-07. Another kick-out claimed by Rangers saw the ball sent in to Patrick Carey, Carey’s initial shot was saved but Carey responded the quickest and palmed the ball goal-bound to level the game once more, 2-05 to 1-07 in the 30th minute. Two final points from Cian Foley and Mark O’Shea saw Kilcummin re-claim the lead and take a small advantage to the dressing room at half-time.

Score at the short whistle: Laune Rangers 1-07 to 2-06 Kilcummin.


Kieran Murphy opened the second half scoring with a point for Kilcummin in the 4th minute to extend their lead back out to 3 points. Eoghan O’Donovan added another for Kilcummin soon after before Kevin Gorman added his name to the scoresheet in the 7th minute to extend Kilcummin’s lead some more; 2-09 to 1-07. Eoghan Hassett registered Laune Rangers only score of the half in the 11th minute of the second half. Kilcummin closed out the game strongly, and a disappointing second half for Laune Rangers was further compounded with a second yellow for midfielder, Shane Daly, who received his marching orders. The final quarter saw further Kilcummin points from Eoghan O’Donovan (2), Mark O’Shea, a James Devane punched effort as well as a final point from Philip O’Leary, giving Kilcummin a well-deserved win.

Full-time score: Laune Rangers 1-08 to 2-14 Kilcummin.

Laune Rangers: Jason Browne (0-1, 1’45), Michael O’Sullivan, Patrick Carey (1-0), Ryan Diggin, Daragh O’Connor, John Tyther, Rory O’Connor, Tom Whittleton, Shane Daly, John Burke, Eoghan Hassett (0-3, 1f), Fiachra Clifford (0-2), Eoin O’Sullivan, Matthew Leslie (0-2, 1f, 1m), Daire Cleary. Subs Patrick Daly, Killian Spillane, Stephen Sealy, Marc Clifford, Matt Reenstierna.

Kilcummin: Brendan Kealy, Kevin McSweeney, Chris O’Leary, James Nagle, Seán O’Leary, Dara O’Callaghan, Donal Maher (1-0), Kevin Gorman (0-1), Paul O’Shea (0-1, 1f), Mark O’Shea (0-3), Philip Casey, Cian Foley (0-1), Eoghan O’Donovan (0-3), Kieran Murphy (1-2), Philip O’Leary (0-2). Subs Noel Duggan, James Devane (0-1), Shane McSweeney, Damien O’Leary.

Referee: Peter Curtin (Brosna)

Laune Rangers team vs Kilcummin 05-08-2023