Molyneaux Shield Final
1 October 2023, 2:30 pm
Laune Rangers
1-10 - 2-11
Austin Stacks
Paddy Burke Memorial Park
Senior B Team

Match Report

Laune Rangers 1-10, Austin Stacks 2-11

Laune Rangers were defeated in the Molyneaux Shield Final on Sunday afternoon, as a strong Austin Stacks outfit claimed the win in Milltown.

After conceding three points in the opening stages, Laune Rangers got on the scoreboard with a pointed free through Cian O’Shea before Darragh O’Grady was brought down in the square.  O’Grady slotted the resulting penalty to give Laune Rangers the lead.

Austin Stacks soon levelled, but a Patrick Daly free gave Laune Rangers a 1-2 to 0-4 lead with fifteen minutes played.

Marc Clifford doubled the Rangers lead with a fine point and Cian O’Shea increased in further with a pointed free.  A point for Stacks was cancelled out by another Cian O’Shea free, but the Tralee side finished the half strongly and kicked two points (one free) to leave the minimum between the teams at the break.  Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-5, Austin Stacks 0-7.

Mark O’Connor traded points with his opponent in the opening minutes of the second half, before Austin Stacks struck for their first goal, giving them a lead they would hold for the rest of the game.  Stacks added a point before Laune Rangers saw Matt Reenstierna black carded in the 43rd minute.  Stacks pointed the resulting free, but Callum Russell responded with a great point, leaving Laune Rangers trailing by 1-10 to 1-7 with a quarter of the game to play.

Austin Stacks pointed again to go four ahead and, while Darragh O’Grady and Pa Daly (2) kicked frees to keep Rangers in touch, a second goal for Stacks ensured the win.

Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-10, Austin Stacks 2-11.

Laune Rangers:- Padraig Ahern, Killian Spillane, James Treacy, Ciarán O’Sullivan, Oisín Birmingham, Seán Arthurs, Jack Healy, Callum Russell (0-1), Gavin O’Shea, Mark O’Connor (0-1), Patrick Daly (0-3f), Marc Clifford (0-1), Cian O’Shea (0-3f), Morgan O’Sullivan, Darragh O’Grady (1-1, pen, 1f).  Subs: Matt Reenstierna for M O’Sullivan, Colm O’Shea for Cian O’Shea, Cillian Foley for Reenstierna.