Mid Kerry O'Sullivan Cup Rd 2
22 October 2023, 12:00 pm
Laune Rangers
1-13 - 1-9
J P O Sullivan Park
Senior Men

Match Report

Laune Rangers 1-13, Milltown/Castlemaine 1-9

Laune Rangers will contest the Mid Kerry O’Sullivan Cup Final after victory over Milltown/Castlemaine on Sunday afternoon saw them top their group in the competition.

It was a game that Laune Rangers led from start to finish, as an Eoin Clifford goal in the third minute set them on their way.  Points would follow from Cian O’Shea (free), Stephen Sealy & Patrick Daly in the opening ten minutes as Seán Hogan provided the sole reply for the visitors during this time.

Cian O’Shea came close to a second Laune Rangers goal but his shot was saved by Cormac Leane, while Jonathan O’Sullivan pointed a free to leave his side trailing 1-3 to 0-2 with a quarter of the game played.

Patrick Daly and Gavin O’Shea pointed for Laune Rangers from opposite flanks as Laune Rangers extended their lead.  Cian O’Shea (2) & Patrick Daly (free) added points for Rangers while Jonathan O’Sullivan (2, 1 free) & Conor Spillane pointed at the other end as the first half came to an end.

Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-8, Milltown/Castlemaine 0-5.

Jerome Flynn (free) and Eoin Clifford traded points as both sides made substitutions.  A Seán Hogan goal halved Milltown/Castlemaine’s deficit, but points from Marc Clifford and John Tyther minimised the damage.  Jerome Flynn and Matt Leslie swapped frees to leave Laune Rangers ahead by 1-12 to 1-7 with fifteen minutes to play.

Jonathan O’Sullivan & Jerome Flynn added frees late on for Milltown/Castlemaine while Callum Russell kicked an excellent point for Rangers, and Laune Rangers did enough to progress to the O’Sullivan Cup Final.

Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-13, Milltown/Castlemaine 1-9.

The game closed with an injury on the full time whistle to Mikey O’Sullivan.  We wish him a speedy recovery.

Laune Rangers:- Padraig Ahern, Rory O’Connor, Seán Arthurs, Seán Cleary, James Treacy, Daragh O’Connor, Ciarán O’Sullivan, Eoin Clifford (1-1), Stephen Sealy (0-1), Gavin O’Shea (0-1), John Tyther (0-1), Patrick Daly (0-3, 1f), Darragh O’Grady, Eoin O’Sullivan, Cian O’Shea (0-3, 1f).  Subs: Marc Clifford (0-1), Ryan Diggin, Matthew Leslie (0-1f), Shane Daly, Callum Russell (0-1); Killian Spillane, Michael O’Sullivan, Morgan O’Sullivan.