Mid Kerry O'Sullivan Cup Final
29 October 2023, 2:00 pm
Laune Rangers
2-9 - 1-9
Senior Men

Match Report

Laune Rangers winning team O'Sullivan Cup 2023

Laune Rangers 2-9, Beaufort 1-9

Laune Rangers claimed the O’Sullivan Cup on Sunday afternoon with victory over Beaufort in Glenbeigh.

Aside from the Mid Kerry players from both clubs who were ineligible for the competition, both sides had a host of other absentees, but were able to serve up a highly entertaining Final in dour weather conditions.

Cian O’Shea opened the scoring with a pointed free for Laune Rangers as the teams were settling into the game.  Beaufort were awarded a 6th minute penalty to give them the chance of the lead, but Darragh O’Connor’s shot was saved excellently by Padraig Ahern, who deflected the ball over the bar for a levelling score.

A Matthew Leslie point was cancelled out by Darragh O’Connor before Laune Rangers struck for the first goal of the game.  A great run by Stephen Sealy saw him work the ball through John Tyther & Ciarán O’Sullivan before finding Matt Leslie for a simple tap in after a well worked move.

Cian O’Shea and Darragh O’Connor traded points before O’Shea added a pointed mark to leave Laune Rangers ahead by 1-4 to 0-3 with fifteen minutes played.

The sides were soon level when, after Fergal Hallissey had split the posts with an attacking mark, Darragh O’Connor struck to the net after a good run and pass by Fergal Hallissey.

Cian O’Shea and Fergal Hallissey traded frees but Laune Rangers were quite wasteful in the 2nd quarter and they couldn’t convert their dominance to scores before the short whistle.

Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-5, Beaufort 1-5.

Fergal Hallissey scored to give Beaufort their first lead early in the second half, and Mark Neary added another to double their advantage.  Matt Leslie and Fergal Hallissey exchanged frees to leave Beaufort holding a 1-8 to 1-6 lead with fifteen minutes to play.

Jason Browne saved from Mark Neary to keep Laune Rangers in the game, although a Seán Kelliher point put three between the sides.  Having been on the back foot for the third quarter, Laune Rangers, grew into the game again.

Cian O’Shea scored his fifth point of the day, before a 2nd Matt Leslie goal put their side back in the lead again – a kickout turnover by Stephen Sealy allowed Pa Carey feed Ryan Diggin, whose shot was saved by Jason Foley before eventually falling to Leslie who applied a cool finish to the net.

Patrick Daly scored two points in the latter stages to put a goal between the sides and Beaufort were unable to bridge the gap, so Laune Rangers claimed the O’Sullivan Cup for the first time since 2017.

Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 2-9, Beaufort 1-9.

winning co-captains

After the game, joint captains Shane Daly & Patrick Carey accepted the Cup from Mid Kerry Board Chairperson Tim Coffey, while Board Treasurer Morgan O’Sullivan awarded the Ashes Bar sponsored Man of the Match award to Laune Rangers’ Eoin Clifford.

Eoin Clifford MOM

Laune Rangers:- Padraig Ahern, Ryan Diggin, Seán Arthurs, Seán Cleary, Eoin Clifford, Patrick Carey (jt capt), Ciarán O’Sullivan, Tom Whittleton, Shane Daly (jt capt), Gavin O’Shea, John Tyther, Stephen Sealy, Patrick Daly (0-2), Matthew Leslie (2-2, 1f), Cian O’Shea (0-5, 2f, 1 mk).  Subs: Jason Browne, James Treacy, Marc Clifford, Darragh O’Grady, Callum Russell; Conor Murphy.

Beaufort:- Jason Foley, Jeremiah O’Sullivan, Ger Hartnett, Liam Curran, Josh Coffey, Seán Kelliher (capt, 0-1), Kieran O’Sullivan, Mark Neary (0-1), Ronan Murphy, Mikey Moriarty, Fergal Hallissey (0-4, 3f), Padraig O’Sullivan, Danny Healy, Padraig Doona, Darragh O’Connor (1-3, 0-1 pen).