Mid Kerry Senior Championship Semi Final
3 December 2023, 2:15 pm
Laune Rangers
0-10 - 0-9
J P O Sullivan Park
Senior Men

Match Report

Stephen Sealy vs Beaufort 03-12-2023

Laune Rangers 0-10, Beaufort 0-9

For the first time in 38 years, Laune Rangers and Keel will meet in the Mid Kerry Senior Championship Final, after Laune Rangers defeated Beaufort in JP O’Sullivan Park and Keel picked up an away win after extra time against Milltown/Castlemaine in Sunday’s Semi Finals.

Laune Rangers recovered from a five point Half Time deficit against Beaufort to book their place in the decider.

Beaufort dominated the first half and were full value for their lead at the break.  They may have even been further ahead but for a number of missed chances that either sailed wide or dropped short.

Liam Carey opened the scoring with a point with a minute on the clock and Jack O’Connor added a free soon after, but Fiachra Clifford registered a free at the other end in quick response.  Seán O’Brien scored a point from the right flank to see the visitors ahead by two at the end of a low scoring first quarter.

Ronan Murphy was beginning to dominate at midfield for Beaufort, and he scored an excellent point to increase his side’s lead.

A Josh Coffey point for Beaufort was cancelled out by John Tyther and, with the first half coming to a close, Laune Rangers may have been happy to be just three in arrears.  However, two late points by Darragh O’Connor and Ronan Murphy gave Beaufort a strong advantage at the break – the O’Connor score coming off a turnover at the kickout, as the young forward attempted to chip Jason Browne only to see his shot bounce off the crossbar and over for a point.

Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-2, Beaufort 0-7.

Laune Rangers had somewhat of a mountain to climb for the second half, but wasted no time in setting about their task.  Patrick Carey scored from outside the D before Fiachra Clifford added another.  John Burke came close to netting for Rangers but he was denied by a great save from Seán Coffey.

David Mangan closed the gap further with a well taken score from the right flank, leaving Beaufort leading by 0-7 to 0-5 with fifteen minutes remaining.

Beaufort were in need of a score, and Fergal Hallissey split the posts with a free to restore a three point lead.  Eoghan Hassett was introduced for Laune Rangers and slotted a free with his first touch, as did fellow substitute Patrick Daly to leave the home side trailing by the minimum.

Laune Rangers were level in the 58th minute, as Fiachra Clifford pointed a free.  Another free was added by Eoghan Hassett to give the hosts the lead for the first time early in injury time, and the home crowd erupted when John Burke scored a superb point to put Rangers two ahead with five minutes of additional time played.

There was plenty of time to go, though.  Padraig Doona halved the deficit for Beaufort in the 67th minute, but Laune Rangers held out for another 90 seconds to claim the win.

Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-10, Beaufort 0-9.

Laune Rangers:- Jason Browne, Rory O’Connor, Seán Arthurs, Seán Cleary, Eoin Clifford, Patrick Carey (0-1), David Mangan (jt capt, 0-1), Eoin O’Sullivan, Shane Daly, Fiachra Clifford (0-3, 2f), John Tyther (0-1), Stephen Sealy, Dáire Cleary (jt capt), Gearóid Hassett, Cian O’Shea.  Subs: John Burke (0-1) for O’Shea, Ryan Diggin for O’Connor, Patrick Daly (0-1f) for Tyther, Eoghan Hassett (0-2f) for D Cleary, Calum Moriarty for O’Sullivan.

Beaufort:- Seán Coffey, Liam Curran, Ger Hartnett, Seán Kelliher (capt), Mark Neary, Nathan Breen, Ethan Coffey, Seán O’Brien (0-1), Mike Breen, Josh Coffey (0-1), Ronan Murphy (0-2), Fergal Hallissey (0-1f), Jack O’Connor (0-1f), Liam Carey (0-1), Darragh O’Connor (0-1).  Subs: Ciarán Kennedy for Neary, Padraig Doona (0-1) for Curran, Darragh Dennehy for Hallissey.