Mid Kerry Senior Championship Final
17 December 2023, 2:00 pm
Laune Rangers
0-12 - 1-6
Paddy Burke Memorial Park
Senior Men

Match Report

celebrations for Mid Kerry Champions

Laune Rangers 0-12, Keel 1-6

It’s been a long time coming! Seventeen years to the day since they last got their hands on the Michael O’Connor Cup, Laune Rangers overcame Keel on Sunday afternoon to reclaim the title of Mid Kerry Senior Champions for the first time since 2006.

Playing against the wind and rain in the first half, Laune Rangers had most of the early possession but struggled to break down the Keel defence.  After soaking up the pressure, Keel were able to break downfield and were first to register a score – Paul Costello with a pointed free in the 8th minute.

Within a couple of minutes Keel were five in front.  A Shane Evans point was followed by an excellent goal by his brother Keith to put Keel in a commanding position.  John Tyther pointed a free to get Laune Rangers off the mark, but Gary Murphy added a point for Keel to put them 1-3 to 0-1 ahead with 17 minutes played.

Fiachra Clifford kicked an excellent free into the wind from a tight angle for Laune Rangers before the game was held up due to a serious leg injury to Keel’s Lachlan Griffin which required an ambulance.  The delay lasted 38 minutes, during which time both teams had returned to the dressing room, and completed a warmup – badly needed on a wet December day.

Laune Rangers were reinvigorated when play resumed, and halved their arrears before the break with points from Seán Cleary and John Tyther (free).  They may have led by the interval as they saw a few chances go wide also.

Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-4, Keel 1-3.

John Tyther scored his first from play before adding a levelling free early in the second half.  Keel regained their lead with a Paul Costello free and, after Aaron Cahillane had been brandished a black card for an intentional trip, Costello put his side two ahead in the 48th minute.

Eoghan Hassett had been introduced off the bench for Laune Rangers, and he had a profound impact of the game, kicking his first point before adding the equalizer a minute later.  Laune Rangers were in control at this point, and Fiachra Clifford put his side ahead for the first time in the 54th minute.

Substitutes Eoghan Hassett and John Burke kicked fantastic scores to put three between the sides, but Burke was issued a black card soon after to leave Laune Rangers to see out the rest of the game a man short.  Keel kept the pressure on and Seán Corcoran pointed to set up a nail-biting last few minutes.  Laune Rangers managed to hold out though, and a late break saw Gearóid Hassett punch the ball over for what was an insurance point.

Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-12, Keel 1-6.

After the game, Championship sponsor – and Laune Rangers club sponsor – Ger Counihan of Bunkers was on hand to present the official man of the match award to Eoghan Hassett of Laune Rangers, before Mid Kerry Board Chairman Tim Coffey presented the Michael O’Connor Cup to joint captains David Mangan and Dáire Cleary.

Laune Rangers:- Padraig Ahern, Ryan Diggin, Seán Arthurs, Seán Cleary (0-1), Eoin Clifford, Patrick Carey, David Mangan (jt capt), Stephen Sealy, Shane Daly, Rory O’Connor, John Tyther (0-4, 3f), Fiachra Clifford (0-2, 1f), Dáire Cleary (jt capt), Eoin O’Sullivan, Gearóid Hassett (0-1).  Subs: Eoghan Hassett (0-3) for O’Sullivan, John Burke (0-1) for O’Connor, Patrick Daly for D Cleary, Calum Moriarty for Diggin, Matthew Leslie for Tyther.

Keel:- Stephen Cahillane, Gavin Evans, Garret Prendiville, Aaron Cahillane, Daniel Ashe, Sean Corcoran (0-1), Shane Prendiville (capt), Thomas Ladden, Liam Evans, Shane Evans (0-1), Keith Evans (1-0), Gary Murphy (0-1), Lachlan Griffin, Tommy Buckley, Paul Costello (0-3f). Subs: Fionan Griffin for L Griffin, Eden Murphy for G Murphy.

Laune Rangers team vs Keel in Mid Kerry Final 2023

Back Row L-R:- Jason Browne, Morgan O’Sullivan, Shane Daly, Eoghan Hassett, John Tyther, Padraig Ahern, Stephen Sealy, Darragh O’Grady, Eoin O’Sullivan, Gavin O’Shea, Matthew Leslie, Ciarán O’Sullivan, Seán Cleary, Eoin Clifford, Calum Moriarty, Callum Russell, Marc Clifford.

Front Row L-R:- Killian Spillane, Cian O’Shea, Patrick Carey, Seán Arthurs, Gearóid Hassett, Dáire Cleary, David Mangan, Ryan Diggin, Rory O’Connor, John Burke, Patrick Daly, Daragh O’Connor, James Treacy, Conor Murphy, Fiachra Clifford.