Minor Football League Division 1B Rd 5
1 April 2024, 6:00 pm
3-8 - 2-14
Laune Rangers
Minor Boys

Match Report

Laune Rangers minors welcomed Ballymacelligott to the JP O’Sullivan Park on Easter Monday knowing that a win would secure a home Semi-Final.


Laune Rangers went into an early lead 0-3 to 0-0. Ballymac went on the attack and scored a goal. Laune Rangers and Ballymac exchanged points.  Laune Rangers 0-4 Ballymacelligott 1-1.  The home team had great possession for the next 10 minutes scoring 1-4 in this period – Adam O’Neill with 1-2, Tomás Joy and Conor West kicked a point each, Conor having received a great ball from Rían Hogan.  Ballymacelligott then proceeded to kick 3 points – 2 from play and converted a free.  Tomás Joy converted a free and Bryan McKenna scored a point from play.


At the short whistle, the score line was Laune Rangers 1-10 Ballymacelligott 1-5.


Ballymacelligott started the second half by getting the first score, and it was still all to play for.  Laune Rangers backs did great work with Ciarán Birmingham, Conor Sheehan and Dylan Flynn stemming the Ballymacelligott attacks.  Laune Rangers forwards were still getting good supply of ball from mid field pairing Charlie O’Sullivan and Alex Garry. Laune Rangers Adam O’Neill kicked a point and Ballymac responded with a point but then Laune Rangers went on the attack again, Adam O’Neill put another point on the scoreboard, keeping 5 points between the sides. Laune Rangers then extended the lead to 6 points with Tomás Joy kicking a point.  Ballymacelligott went looking for a score and Adam Radny made a great save to prevent a certain goal for the visitors. Score line 1-13 to 1-7.  Ten minutes remaining, Adam O’Neill kicked another point from a well worked move from Colm Evans and Oran O’Sullivan. Ballymacelligott pushed hard to reduce the deficit and their pressure was rewarded with 2 goals in final 8 minutes.  But Adam O’Neill splitting the Ballymacelligott goals in that same period with another goal for the home side.  Final Score Laune Rangers 2-14 Ballymacelligott 3-8.


Panel : Adam Radny, Ciarán Birmingham, Conor Sheehan, Dylan Flynn, Aaron Doyle, James Jones, Liam O’Connell, Charlie O’Sullivan, Alex Garry, Colm Evans, Adam O’Neill (2-7, 0-1f), Rian Hogan, Bryan McKenna (0-1), Tomás Joy (0-5, 0-3f), Conor West(0-1), Brian Foley, Reece Mangan, Patrick O’Donnell, Colm O’Shea, Oran O’Sullivan, Daniel Kelly.