Mid Kerry Senior League Rd 3
25 February 2024, 1:00 pm
0-11 - 2-10
Laune Rangers
Senior Men

Match Report

laune rangers glenbeigh 25-02-2024

Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-11, Laune Rangers 2-10

Laune Rangers A booked their place in the Mid Kerry Senior League Semi Finals with victory over Glenbeigh/Glencar in Glenbeigh on Sunday afternoon.

There was little to separate the sides for much of the first half.  Gavan O’Grady opened the scoring in the first minute before Gavin O’Shea equalised & Patrick Carey pointed Laune Rangers ahead.

Points by Aodhán Roche and Seán Quirke restored the lead for the home side, but Stephen Gannon levelled matters at 0-3 a piece at the midway point of the half.

Gavan O’Grady (free) put Glenbeigh/Glencar ahead again before the first goal chance of the game was presented to Seán Quirke, but his shot trailed wide.

That proved a costly miss as the first goal came at the other end less than a minute later – Matt Leslie’s shot dropping just under the crossbar into the net.

Gavan O’Grady responded with a point for Glenbeigh/Glencar, but Laune Rangers came close to a second goal – Dáire Cleary forcing a super save from Daniel Kelly.  Both sides added a brace of points before the break – Gavan O’Grady & Keelan O’Sullivan for the home side, and Pa Carey & Matt Leslie for Rangers.

Half Time Score:- Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-7, Laune Rangers 1-5.

Stephen Gannon opened the second half scoring, but Gavan O’Grady kept his side in the game with a couple of frees.  Gearóid Hassett and Gavin O’Shea pointed to give Laune Rangers the lead by two with a quarter of the game to play.

Pa Carey added a point before Gearóid Hassett doubled the lead with an excellent goal.  John Tyther would add a super point with the outside of his boot late on, while Gavan O’Grady pointed two late frees.

Full Time Score:- Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-11, Laune Rangers 2-10.

Laune Rangers:- Padraig Ahern, Seán Cleary, Oisín Daly, Shane Clifford, Patrick Carey (0-3), Calum Moriarty, James Treacy, Shane Daly (capt), Eoin Clifford, Fiachra Clifford, John Tyther (0-1), Gavin O’Shea (0-2), Dáire Cleary, Matthew Leslie (1-1), Stephen Gannon (0-2).  Subs: Jason Browne, Gearóid Hassett (1-1), Killian Spillane, Seán Diggin.

Glenbeigh/Glencar:- Daniel Kelly, Aodhán Roche (0-1), Ciarán Doyle, Shane Riordan, Seán T Sheahan, Tommy Quirke, Noah Falvey, Colin McGillicuddy, Liam Smith, Keelan O’Sullivan, Fionn O’Sullivan (0-1), Caoilte Purcell, Gavan O’Grady (0-7, 5f), Seán Quirke (0-1), Caolim Teahan (0-1f).  Subs: Keith Moriarty, Jason Clifford, Luke O’Connor, Seamus Moriarty, John Sugrue.