Senior Football League Division 1 Rd 1
23 March 2024, 5:00 pm
Kerins O’Rahillys
1-8 - 2-11
Laune Rangers
Kerins O'Rahilly's
Senior Men

Match Report

Laune Rangers team vs Kerins O Rahillys 23-03-24

Kerins O’Rahillys 1-8, Laune Rangers 2-11

Eleven years have passed since Laune Rangers last took the field in Division 1 of the County Senior Football League, but that run came to an end on Saturday evening with a trip to Strand Road and a victory over Kerins O’Rahillys.

Fiachra Clifford opened the scoring with an excellent point before Laune Rangers scored their first goal.  Eoin O’Sullivan was fouled in the square for a penalty, and John Tyther slotted the spot kick to the net.

Ryan Carroll & Fiachra Clifford traded frees before Barry John Keane pointed a free for Kerin’s O’Rahillys.  Eoin Clifford & Ciarán O’Sullivan pointed to increase the Laune Rangers lead before Ryan Carroll responded with an excellent pointed 45.  A John Tyther free preceded Laune Rangers’ second goal – Dáire Cleary ending a 40 yard run with the finish to the net.

Half Time Score:- Kerins O’Rahillys 0-3, Laune Rangers 2-5.

Eoin O’Sullivan punched the ball over the crossbar for the second half’s opening score.  Gearóid Savage pointed his side’s only score from play, before an excellent pass by Eoin Clifford put Dáire Cleary into space and he took a point, while his brother Seán nullified a Tom Hoare free with another point.

Ryan Carroll was brandished a black card in the 40th minute, although they did see out that 10 minute spell holding their opponents scoreless and scoring two Gearóid Savage frees of their own.

John Tyther tapped over a free before Cian O’Shea pointed with his first touch, and Stephen Sealy added another from play to increase the Laune Rangers lead to ten points with time almost up.  A late penalty for a foul on Ross O’Callaghan was scored by Ryan Carroll, while a Gearóid Savage free proved to be the last play of the game.

Full Time Score:- Kerins O’Rahillys 1-8, Laune Rangers 2-11.

Kerins O’Rahillys:- Robert O’Connor, Darragh McElligott, Daragh Buckley, Seán Collins, Stephen Nix, Ross O’Callaghan, TJ Heaphy, Tom Hoare (0-1f), Jake Foley, Ryan Carroll (1-2, pen, 1f, 45’), Barry J Keane (0-1f), Shane McElligott, Conor O’Sulivan, Sam McCarthy, Gearóid Dillane.  Subs: Conor Hayes for McCarthy, Gearóid Savage (0-4, 3f) for O’Sullivan, Padraig Griffin for Dillane, Daniel Bowler for Heaphy.

Laune Rangers:- Padraig Ahern, Seán Cleary (0-1), Calum Moriarty, Oisín Daly, James Treacy, Patrick Carey, Ciarán O’Sullivan (0-1), Shane Daly, Stephen Sealy (0-1), Eoin Clifford (0-1), Fiachra Clifford (0-2, 1f), Rory O’Connor, John Tyther (1-2, pen, 2f), Eoin O’Sullivan (0-1), Dáire Cleary (1-1).  Subs: Killian Spillane for O’Connor, Oisín Birmingham for C O’Sullivan, Evan Madden for Treacy, Stephen Gannon for Tyther, Cian O’Shea (0-1) for S Daly; Conor Buckley, Gearóid Hassett.