Senior Football League Division 1 Round 2
31 March 2024, 2:00 pm
Laune Rangers
1-14 - 1-10
Killarney Legion
J P O Sullivan Park
Senior Men

Match Report

Laune Rangers: 1-14
Killarney Legion: 1-10
It has been 11 years since Laune Rangers played a Division 1 County League game in Killorglin and on Sunday both teams served up a cracking game.
Laune Rangers and Legion exchanged points for the first 25 mins with points for the home team coming from Eoin Clifford, Daire Cleary (0-2) and John Tyther levelling the game. Cian O’Shea then kicked a point to put Laune Rangers ahead for the first time of the afternoon and Stephen Sealey kicked another to leave score line at (0-6, 0-4). A penalty was awarded on the stroke of half time because of a foul on the ball inside Legions small square. John Tyther stepped up to take the penalty that was saved by the Legion goalkeeper Brian Kelly.
Laune Rangers introduced two half time substitutes. Ciaràn O’Sullivan and Matt Leslie who came on for Evan Madden and Cian O’Shea respectively.
Fiachra Clifford converted a free which was the opening score of the second half. Legion went on the attack and their corner forward Ryan O’Grady had a shot on goal but Padraig Ahern made a great save. Legion then scored 2 points from play, Daire Cleary replied with a point from play leaving 2 points between the teams. However, Legion levelled with Finbarr Murphy scoring from play and Ryan O’Grady converting a free. Matt Leslie who was introduced at half time, got his name on scoreboard and John Tyther kicked a point from play and converted a free to put 3 between the sides (0-11, 0-8). Legion kicked another point, Laune Rangers went on the attack again and young gun Stephen Gannon was pulled down and Matthew Leslie converted the free, Eoin Clifford kicked another point from play, pushing the lead to 4 points. Laune Rangers then struck for goal with Stephen Gannon blazing the ball into the back of Legions net (1-13, 0-9) after good work from Rory O’Connor. Matt Leslie converted a free which was to be Laune Rangers final score of the day. Legion converted a free and midfielder Eoghan O’Sullivan scoring a late goal for Legion seconds before final whistle was blown.
Final Score Laune Rangers 1-14 Killarney Legion 1-10
Panel: Padraig Ahern, Sean Cleary, Oisin Daly, Evan Madden, Callum Moriarty, Patrick Carey, James Treacy, ⁠Shane Daly, Eoin Clifford (0-2), Fiachra Clifford (0-1), John Tyther, (0-3, 0-2f) Stephen Sealy(0-1), Daire Cleary(0-3), Eoin O’Sullivan, Cian O’Shea (0-1), Adam Carey, Gavin O’Shea, Stephen Gannon (1-0), Ciaran O’Sullivan, Rory O’Connor, Killian Spillane, Oisin Birmingham, Ronan O’Shea, Darragh Clifford, ⁠Darragh O’Connor, ⁠Shane Clifford, Roan Moriarty and Matt Leslie (0-3, 0-2f).