Minor Football League Division 2 Semi-Final Semi-Final
8 April 2024, 6:30 pm
Laune Rangers
1-17 - 4-7
Spa Killarney
J P O Sullivan Park
Minor Boys

Match Report

Minors v Spa – Division 2 Semi-Final

Laune Rangers: 1-17

Spa: 4-07


Laune Rangers played Spa on Monday evening last at the JP O’Sullivan Park.  With Laune Rangers playing with the wind in the first half, it was Spa who got the first score of the evening with an early goal after an attack from the throw in.  It was 10 minutes before the home side registered their first score of the game with a point from play from the boot of Oran O’Sullivan. This was followed by a point from Conor West and a second point from play by Oran O’Sullivan to level the scores. Spa won possession from the resulting kickout and hit Laune Rangers for 2 goals in quick succession, the home side now trailing by 6 points.  Laune Rangers quickly responded with Adam O’Neill and John Horgan kicking a point each from play. Laune Rangers continued to go on the attack and won possession from a kickout and Aaron Doyle passed the ball off to Adam O’Neill who kicked a great point to reduce the margin. The last 5 minutes of first half, Spa kicked two points and Adam O’Neill kicked another from play, leaving the half time score 0-7 to Spa 3-3.

With 5 points separating the sides at half time Laune Rangers now playing against the breeze had to dig deep and that they did. The home side went on to kick the next 4 points from Tomás Joy, Adam O’Neill, Colm Evans and Aaron Doyle. The Laune Rangers defence worked hard and linking together to keep the Spa attacks to a minimum. It was 12 minutes into the second half before Spa registered their first and only point of the half. In the remaining 20 minutes, Spa goal keeper made a great save to deny Colm Evans but Adam O’Neill retained possession from rebound and coolly slotted over the bar.  Tomás Joy then kicked the equaliser and final point of the second half with the referee blowing the full time whistle and it was all square in Killorglin.

Full-time Laune Rangers 0-13, Spa 3-4

Extra time commenced, Spa launched the first attack from the throw in, but this was foiled by James Jones and great work ethic by Laune Rangers involving several players brought the ball back out the field and referee blew whistle and deemed Rian Hogan to be fouled, Tomás converted the free. The home team’s next score came from boot of Colm Evans.  However, just before the whistle for half-time of extra-time, Spa went on the attack and referee awarded a penalty to Spa which was well taken and ended up in the back of the net.  Spa leading by the narrowest of margins at end of first period of extra time – Laune Rangers 0-15, Spa 4-4

Laune Rangers had to give it everything in the second period of extra time, players in both sides were going down with cramp as darkness was settling in.  In the first two minutes of this period, Spa kicked a point straight from the throw-in but Laune Rangers ploughed ahead with a point from the boot of Adam O’Neill. The crucial score came after Adam O’Neill’s shot on goal was blocked but James Jones reacted quickest to the rebound and flicked the ball into back of net putting Laune Rangers ahead by 2 points. 8 minutes remaining and no one was going anywhere, Spa replied with a point of their own. Adam O’Neill then kicked another point from play bringing his tally for the day to 7 points. Spa then kicked their final point of the day. In a game that could have gone either way with lead changing several times throughout the game Laune Rangers emerged victorious by a single point. Full-time score: Laune Rangerd 1-17 to 4-07 Spa. Credit to these young men on both sides who gave it their all on the field. Congratulations to young men from the Laune who now play Ballymacelligott in the Division 2 final.

Panel: Adam Radny, Daniel Kelly, Conor Sheehan, Ciarán Birmingham, Aaron Doyle, James Jones, Liam O’Connell, John Horgan, Charlie O’Sullivan, Colm Evans, Adam O’Neill, Oran O’Sullivan, Dylan Flynn, Tomàs Joy, Conor West, Rian Hogan, Patrick O’Donnell, Callum Russell, Bryan McKenna, Alex Garry, Reece Mangan, Colm O’Shea, Ned O’Grady