Senior Football League Division 1 Round 6
4 May 2024, 7:00 pm
Laune Rangers
1-17 - 0-8
J P O Sullivan Park
Senior Men

Match Report

Credit Union Senior County Football League, Division 1, Round 6

Report by Sinéad Pigott


Laune Rangers: 1-17

Dingle: 0-08


Laune Rangers maintained their unbeaten run in this year’s Credit Union County Senior Football League with a win over Dingle in a sun-soaked J.P. O’Sullivan Park on Saturday evening last. Laune Rangers had the upper hand throughout the game but Dingle’s Conor Geaney kept them on their toes and gave them plenty to think about. However, the home side maintained their grip on the game, running out 1-17 to 0-08 winners at the final whistle.



Laune Rangers opened the scoring with a point from John Tyther in the 1st minute. Tyther then added his second from a free in the 7th minute. Laune Rangers scored the game’s only goal in the 8th minute. Dáire Cleary linked up well with Gearóid Hassett who palmed the ball into the back of the Dingle net to give Laune Rangers a 1-02 to 0-00 lead. John Tyther added another for the home side in the 10th minute when Rangers broke forward and went on the attack. Tyther opted to fist the ball over the bar for his, and Laune Rangers’, third point of the evening. Dingle got off the mark in the 13th minute with a pointed free from the boot of Conor Geaney. Dingle added another point soon after, this time a Maitiú Ó Flaitheartaigh effort and the game stood 1-03 to 0-02 in Laune Rangers’ favour mid-way through the opening half.

Shane Daly extended the home side’s lead once more in the 18th minute. Dingle’s Conor Geaney saw two shots saved by Jason Browne in the Laune Rangers goal as the game progressed and Dingle will feel disappointed at not taking at least one of those goal chances. They did get a point from one of the attacks as referee, Brendan Brosnan, called play back for an advantage with Conor Geaney tapping it over for a point, 1-04 to 0-03 with 24 minutes of the first half played. Laune Rangers added two final points in the closing minutes of the half to keep their grip on the game. The first, a pointed free from John Tyther, and the final point of the half, another fisted effort, this time from Dáire Cleary. Half-Time score: Laune Rangers 1-06 to 0-03.

Laune Rangers got the second half scoring underway with Fiachra Clifford sending a lovely ball forward which was claimed by Gearóid Hassett. Hassett was subsequently fouled and John Tyther converted the resulting free. Dingle added two frees, both from sharp-shooter Conor Geaney, in the 5th and 6th minutes of the half to narrow the home side’s lead somewhat, 1-07 to 0-05. Laune Rangers replied with two of their own almost straight away with John Tyther adding to his tally and the newly introduced John Burke adding a point of his own in his first action on being introduced in the 9th minute. Dingle’s Conor Geaney pointed another free in the 12th minute to let the score 1-09 to 0-06. Laune Rangers added four points in quick succession in the minutes that followed to put some distance between the sides; another John Burke effort on the rebound after his initial shot was saved, a Fiachra Clifford free, another fisted effort from Dáire Cleary and the pick of the scores, a superb point from Fiachra Clifford on the back of a Laune Rangers turnover with Dáire Cleary, Calum Moriarty and Clifford linking up well with Clifford on hand to send the final shot over, 1-13 to 0-06 with 18 minutes of the second half played.

Laune Rangers added a free from John Tyther in the 23rd minute as well as a Stephen Sealy effort after Sealy was on the receiving end of a good pass from Eoin Clifford to let the score 1-15 to 0-06. The side’s swapped scores as the game headed into the closing stages with Dingle adding two final frees, both from the boot of Conor Geaney, and Laune Rangers finishing with points from Eoin Clifford and a final superb effort from the young John Burke. Final score: Laune Rangers 1-17 to 0-08 Dingle.


Teams and Scorers

Laune Rangers: Jason Browne, Oisín Daly, Seán Arthurs, Oisín Birmingham, Calum Moriarty, Pa Carey, Tom Whittleton, Eoin Clifford (0-01), Shane Daly (0-01), Fiachra Clifford (0-02, 1f), John Tyther (0-07, 4f), Stephen Sealy (0-01), Dáire Cleary (0-02), Eoin O’Sullivan, Gearóid Hassett (1-00). SUBS: John Burke (0-03), Patrick Daly, Shane Clifford, Gavin O’Shea.