Senior Football League Division 1 Round 8
26 May 2024, 2:00 pm
Laune Rangers
1-11 - 0-14
An Ghaeltacht
J P O Sullivan Park
Senior Men

Match Report

Credit Union County Senior Football League, Division 1

Report by Aidan Clifford

Laune Rangers 1-11,

An Ghaeltacht 0-14


Points were ultimately shared in JP O’Sullivan Park on Sunday afternoon as a last kick of the game equalizer by Tomás O’Sé claimed a draw for travelling An Ghaeltacht.

Laune Rangers led in the early stages with John Burke opening the scoring before John Tyther added another point a minute later.  An Ghaeltacht were soon level as a pointed 45’ by Dara O’Sé was followed by a Stephen O’Conchúir point.

Laune Rangers were quick in reply as John Burke split the posts with a super effort, before the hosts struck for the game’s only goal.  A subtle dummy solo by John Tyther opened up the visitors’ defence and he found Tom Whittleton who applied a cool finish to the net.  With fifteen minutes on the clock, Laune Rangers led by 1-3 to 0-2.

Oigí O’Sé pointed an offensive mark before it was cancelled out by Fiachra Clifford with an excellent point.  Cathal O’Beaglaioch and John Tyther traded scores, but An Ghaeltacht finished out the half strongly as Conor O’Corrduibh & Dara O’Sé pointed to half their deficit before the break.

Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-5, An Ghaeltacht 0-6.

A point by Cathal O’Beaglaioch in the opening 30 seconds of the second half was followed by a Dara O’Sé free to level matters.  Pointed frees by Fiachra Clifford & John Tyther restored the two point gap with fifteen minutes to play.

Dara O’Sé pointed a free before Tomás O’Sé came close to giving An Ghaeltacht the lead – his shot trailing wide, though.  Dara O’Sé temporarily brought his side back level with a point but Fiachra Clifford pointed a free to nullify it a minute later.

Fiachra Clifford & Dáire Cleary each had points cancelled out by Dara O’Sé frees, but Stephen Sealy punched over to put the hosts ahead once more.  Laune Rangers came close to getting a winning goal in the 59th minute but Matt Leslie’s shot went agonisingly wide.

An Ghaeltacht rallied in injury time and a pointed free by Dara O’Sé – his 8th point – was followed by a super score with the last kick of the game by Tomás O’Sé, and the final whistle was blown on the kickout.


Full-Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-11, An Ghaeltacht 0-14.


Laune Rangers:- Jason Browne, Rory O’Connor, Seán Arthurs, Seán Cleary, Calum Moriarty, Oisín Daly, Killian Spillane, Eoin O’Sullivan, Stephen Sealy (0-1), Fiachra Clifford (0-4, 2f), Tom Whittleton (1-0), Eoin Clifford, John Burke (0-2), Dáire Cleary (0-1), John Tyther (0-3, 1f).  Subs: Oisín Birmingham for O’Connor, Gearóid Hassett for Moriarty, Matthew Leslie for Burke, Ciarán O’Sullivan for Spillane, Patrick Daly for F Clifford.

An Ghaeltacht:- Seán O’Luing, Breanainn O’Bruic, Ronan O’Beaglaioch, JJ MacLiam, Padraig O’Sé, PJ MacLáimh, Stephen O’Conchúir (0-1), Cathal O’Beaglaioch (0-2), Franz Sauerland, Diarmuid O’Sé, Dara O’Sé (0-8, 5f, 1 45’), Seán O’Gairbhí, Oigí O’Sé (0-1 mk), Conn O’Riagain, Conor O’Corrduibh (0-1).  Subs: Tomás O’Sé, Gavin O’Cinnéide, Tomás O’Sé (0-1), Seamus O’Loinsigh.