Senior Football League Division 5 Cup, Rd 4
26 May 2024, 2:00 pm
0-12 - 1-6
Laune Rangers
Senior B Team

Match Report

Credit Union County Senior Football League, Division 5 Cup

Report by Katrina Stack


Duagh 0-11

Laune Rangers 1-6


Laune Rangers traveled to North Kerry for the second weekend in succession to play Duagh in the next Phase of Division 5 Senior County League.

Cormac Dillion kicked the opening point of the game for Duagh and this was followed by a converted free from Killian Buckley to put the home side into an 2 point early lead. Laune Rangers got their opening score when Cian O’Shea fisted the ball over the bar. Gavin O’Shea then kicked Laune Rangers second point from distance. Eoin O’Connell kicked another point for the visitors as  Laune Rangers pushed up on the Duagh kick outs and won several but were struggling to get scores on the board. Adam Carey who had a fine game in goals brought off a great save from a Cormac Dillion shot. Duagh kicked two wides before Ted Moloney equalised in the 18th minute. Cian O’Shea then converted a free but Cormac Dillion equalised with a point from play.  Final point of the first half came at 28 mins from the boot of Cian O’Shea with the bare minimum between the sides.


Half-time Duagh 0-4, Laune Rangers 0-5.


Laune Rangers opened the scoring of the second half with a pointed free from Cian O’Shea.  Duagh then scored three point in succession – Ted Moloney kicking from play, Cormac Dillion converted a free and kicked one from play. Rangers replied with a fine goal from Gavin O’Shea in the 12th min of the second half to put Rangers two ahead but unfortunately that was the last score converted by the men from the Laune. The visitors continuously tried to break through the Duagh defensive setup.  Duagh players Cormac Dillion kicked a free and Joey Shanahan a point from play to equalise in Duagh. The remaining scores from Duagh were from Daniel O’Donoghue and 2 for Cormac Dillion.


Final Score : Duagh 0-12. Laune Rangers 1-6.


Panel : Adam Carey, Cathal O’Callaghan, Evan Madden, Eoin O’Connell, Joe O’Neill, James Treacy, Niall T O’Brien, Callum Russell, Gavan Mangan, Gavin O’Shea, Ronan O’Shea, Cian O’Shea, Seanie Diggin, Marc Clifford (captain), Mikey O’Donnell, Colm O’Shea, Tom Garry, Jack Healy, Devon Hogan, Cillian Buckley, Patryk Radny.