Central Region Minor Division 1 Final
27 May 2024, 7:00 pm
Laune Rangers
1-19 - 5-12
John Mitchels GAA Complex
Minor Boys

Match Report

Central District Division 1 Minor Final

Match report by Eddie Birmingham


Churchill 5-12

Laune Rangers 1-19


They say that goals win games,  and that was certainly the case at the John Mitchels grounds in Tralee on Monday evening,  when a talented Churchill overcame our gallant minors. The match which was played in perfect conditions,  was well refereed by Mike Moriarty from Keel, which contributed to an entertaining match for the sizeable attendance.

After 11 minutes of play, Laune Rangers were ahead by 3 points to 2, with points from play by Aaron Doyle and Liam O’Connell, and a converted free by John Horgan.  Churchill’s points were both from play by their captain Cian McKenna.  During the next 12 minutes,  Churchill hit a real purple patch,  scoring 1-5, all from open play, with Tadgh Slattery accounting for 1-1,  and Tom Lenihan and Sean Hickey getting 2 points each. The Rangers sole score during this period was a good point from James Jones. On 20 minutes, Tomás Joy was very unlucky to see a good effort on goal go just outside the far post, after a well worked move. Laune Rangers added 3 more points to their tally, a pointed free by Tomás Joy, and 2 from John Horgan,  the first from a free after a great interception by Ciarán Birmingham,  and the other a lovely point from open play.  The last action of the first half was Tom Lenihan’s 3rd point from play for Churchill, which left them leading at halftime, on a scoreline of 1-8 to 0-7.


The scores came thick and fast in the 2nd half, but every time that Laune Rangers seemed to get themselves back into the game,  Churchill replied with a goal just at the right time for them.

Tom Lenihan started this half as he finished the first,  with a point from play.  John Horgan responded with a point of his own,  before Aaron Harty got Churchill’s 2nd goal, to extend the gap to 7 points. It can never be said that the Launesiders gave in, as they cut the deficit to 3 points, with halftime substitute Adam O’Neill scoring 2 points,  and Tomás Joy and Jamie Flynn getting 1 apiece. With Laune Rangers pushing hard to close the gap, it inevitably left them more exposed at the back, and on 11 minutes,  it was that man Aaron Harty again, as he got on the end of a good Churchill move to goal again, pushing the gap back out to 6 points.

Adam O’Neill and Tomás Joy replied with 2 points for the Rangers, but then on 16 minutes,  Churchill were awarded a deserved penalty,  which Cian McKenna calmly despatched past Adam Radny. The score now stood at 4-9 to 0-13 in favour of Churchill, with 14 minutes of the half left to play, but still our boys kept at it. Tomás Joy scored a sweet point,  while Sean Hickey got 2 on the trot for Churchill. Joy got another point,  before Cian McKenna scored Churchill’s 5th goal after a fast breakaway up the pitch.  Rian Hogan and Adam O’Neill scored a point apiece either side of a very well finished goal by midfielder Charlie O’Sullivan. Conor McGibney got Churchill’s last point, and just before the final whistle sounded,  Ciarán Birmingham got up the pitch to score a well taken point from play which just skimmed the crossbar, to leave the final score at 4-12 to 1-19 in favour of Churchill.


At the end of the day,  we can have no complaints,  as we were beaten by a better team on the evening, in a very sporting match.


Laune Rangers: Adam Radny, Ciarán Birmingham 0-1, Dylan Flynn, Daniel Kelly, Aaron Doyle 0-1, James Jones 0-1, Odhran O’Sullivan, Charlie O’Sullivan 1-0, Liam O’Connell 0-1, Colm Evans, Tomás Joy 0-5, Alex Garry, Jamie Flynn 0-1, John Horgan 0-4, Patrick O’Donnell.  Subs: Adam O’Neill 0-4, Rian Hogan 0-1, Conor Sheehan, Reece Mangan, Conor West, Colm O’Shea, Callum Russell, Brian Foley, Ned O’Grady.


Churchill: Charlie Nolan, Gavin Deasy, Jayden Deady, Sean Michael Redican, Tom Quilter, Conor McGibney 0-1, Eoghan Crowley, Michael O’Sullivan, Tadgh Slattery 1-1, Kealan O’Dowd, Cian McKenna 2-2, Aaron Harty 2-0, Tom Lenihan 0-4,  Sean Hickey 0-4, Sean Cronin. Subs: Garry Egan, Paddy Hanafin, Jack Nolan, Éamon Hickey, Billy Clifford, Darragh Hogan,  Billy Naughton, Diarmuid Murphy