Senior Football League Division 1 Round 10
8 June 2024, 7:30 pm
Laune Rangers
2-15 - 1-11
J P O Sullivan Park
Senior Men

Match Report

Credit Union County Senior Football League, Division 1

Report by Aidan Clifford


Laune Rangers 2-15

Ballymacelligott 1-11


Laune Rangers kept the pressure on those above them in Division 1 with defeat of Ballymacelligott in JP O’Sullivan Park on Saturday evening.  Two first half goals by Dáire Cleary proved crucial in a game where they led for the majority.

Vinnie Horan pointed a first minute free to give Ballymac their only lead of the game.  Jason Browne pointed a 45’ to level matters before Dáire Cleary put Laune Rangers ahead with a point a minute later.  Scores were levelled again with a Vinnie Horan free, and the Ballymac forward nullified a Patrick Daly point with another free in the 14th minute to keep scores tied at 0-3 a piece.

Dáire Cleary struck for a goal after a super run to give Laune Rangers a lead they would hold for the rest of the game.  Another Vinnie Horan free was cancelled out by a great score by Gearóid Hassett, before Michael Herlihy scored the visitors first from play with an excellent score near the sideline.  Eoin Clifford pointed before Dáire Cleary scored his and Laune Rangers’ second goal, and points late in the half by Cian O’Shea, Seán Cleary & Patrick Daly added to a commanding lead.

Half Time Score :- Laune Rangers 2-8, Ballymacelligott 0-5.


Gearóid Hassett opened the second half scoring with a point, but Ballymac halved their deficit within minutes.  Micheál Reidy followed a point with his side’s only goal, before Vinnie Horan added a free to reduce arrears to five points.

Donal Dály got himself on the scoreboard with a point for the visitors but Laune Rangers responded with points from Oisín Birmingham & Tom Whittleton.  Micheál Reidy added a point, but Laune Rangers were in control and added late points from substitutes Eoghan Hassett (2, 1 mark) & John Tyther to close the game out.

Full Time Score :- Laune Rangers 2-15, Ballymacelligott 1-11.


Laune Rangers:- Jason Browne (0-1 45’), Killian Spillane, Oisín Daly, Seán Cleary (0-1), Daragh O’Connor, Eoin Clifford (0-1), Oisín Birmingham (0-2). Eoin O’Sullivan, Shane Daly (jt capt), Patrick Daly (0-2), Gearóid Hassett (0-2), Tom Whittleton (0-1), Fiachra Clifford (jt capt), Dáire Cleary (2-1), Cian O’Shea (0-1).  Subs: James Treacy for O’Connor, Eoghan Hassett (0-2, 1mk) for F Clifford, John Tyther (0-1) for C O’Shea, Calum Moriarty for E Clifford, Gavin O’Shea for P Daly.